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Testimony before the Human Services Committee
March 13, 2007

Re: HB 7324: An Act Concerning Medicaid Reimbursement Rates to Pharmacists

Good Morming Senator Harris and Representative Villano. My name is Margherita R. Giuliano.
I am a pharmacist and the Executive Vice President of the Connecticut Pharmacists Association.
The Connecticut Pharmacists Association is a professional organization representing more than
1,000 pharmacists in the state.

I am here today to ask for your support of HB 7324: AAC Medicaid Reimbursement Rates to
Pharmacists. In 2005 the federal government passed the Deficit Reduction Act which included
huge cuts to Medicaid. Specifically, the federal government will no longer be reimbursing
pharmacies based on the controversial method of Average Wholesale Price or AWP for generic
drugs. The new method of reimbursement to pharmacies will be based on the Average '
Manufacturers Price or AMP. 1t is critical that the legislature understands that pharmacies do not
purchase drugs at AMP. At this time, the federal government is still making a final
determination on how AMP will be calculated.

CPA has been working closely with DSS to try to determine the impact that AMP will have on
community pharmacies and patient access to pharmacy services. A recent analysis comparing
cost of claims as they are currently reimbursed to pharmacies and cost of claims using the federal
government’s current definition of AMP pricing reveals a gap of more than $18.00 in ingredient
cost. According to DSS, some of the drugs have a differential of $100.00. Again it is important
for legislators to understand that pharmacies do not purchase drugs at AMP. Most pharmacies
purchase medications from wholesalers — who purchase medications from the manufacturers.
Pharmacies are at the end of the distribution system.

We recognize that the state of Connecticut has no ability to influence the definition of AMP.
However, the state does have the ability to change the dispensing fee to pharmacies to keep them
viable. Historically, pharmacies are reimbursed with a formula of “cost of drug” plus
“dispensing fee”. Any good business person understands that to be viable a business must make
a return on investment. Pharmacies were able to realize a ROI by discounts off AWP. With
ingredient cost now less than actual acquisition cost, new strategies will need to be adopted to
keep pharmacies viable. This legislation asks that the state keep pharmacies “whole” when AMP
is implemented this spring or summer. It then asks that the state calculates the pharmacies’
actual cost of dispensing of multiple source drugs to Medicaid patients and implements this
adjusted fee by April 1, 2008. A recent national survey on the cost of dispensing shows that
Connecticut’s Median Average per pharmacy to dispense a prescription is $11.59. This is the fee
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that covers just the cost to dispense — not allowing for profits. Currently the Medicaid
dispensing fee is $3.15. Pharmacies have not had a fee increase since 1991.

Putting all that into perspective, come Spring 2007 when reimbursement for Medicaid is based
on AMP pharmacies will need adequate reimbursement to remain accessible to Medicaid
patients. It is also critical when budgeting for this increase that language is added to increase fees
each year to keep pace with the cost of living. Pharmacists are the only providers whose fees
decline as the cost of doing business in the state increases.

I want to praise the Department and the hard work of Sheila Dorval and Evelyn Dudley in
providing us with the information used to evaluate the AMP impact. DSS has been our biggest
supporter since they recognized what pharmacists did in Medicare Part D. The state was able to
realize savings by using intelligent selection when placing patients in the appropriate plans. We
ask you to invest in the professionals that helped you in the past. We look forward to ongoing
discussions with the department in looking at new strategies to reimburse pharmacies and
pharmacists appropriately while providing new ways to improve patient care.



Track chronologically:

Changes in reimbursement from the state

July 13, 1978
September 12, 1980
December 3, 1981
November 1, 1985
August 8, 1989
January 1, 1991
1/1/91 — 12/31/94
August 1, 1995
November 1, 1995
November 15, 1997
September 1, 2002
2003 Legislative Session
October 1, 2003
November 1, 2003

July 1, 2004

$2.52 walk-in; $2.10 nursing home

$2.77 walk-in; $2.31 nursing home

$3.11 walk-in; $2.59 nursing home

$3.55 walk-in; $3.11 nursing home

AWP — 8%

AWP — 8% + $4.10* (*first time for a universal fee)
OBRA freeze on pharmacy reimbursements
AFDC moved to Managed Care (fees decreased)
AWP -12% + $4.10

$1.00 Co-pay

AWP - 12% + $3.85

AWP —12% + $3.60 & $1.00 co-pay

AWP —12% + $3.30

Medicaid Co-pay increased to $1.50

AWP -12% + $3.15

Additional duties to pharmacists from the state

2001 Legislative Session

July 1, 2002

Prior Authorization Legislation Passed
Generic Substitution Mandatory (Brand Medically Necessary)

- Quality Assurance

- State MAC list established

- Voluntary Mail-order for state assistance patients (not yet
implemented)

- State may contract with “an established entity” to purchase drugs
through the lowest price available (not yet implemented



February 4, 2003 - MAC list implemented

June 18, 2003 - Prior Authorization for prescriptions over $500

July 16, 2003 - Prior Authorization for Brand Medically Necessary prescriptions
with a Class-A generic alternative

- Prior Authorization for early refills (<75%)

December 2004 - Preferred Drug List Implemented (PPIs)

Changes in cost of filling prescriptions



