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You asked for brief summaries of Connecticut’s persistent offender 

laws. 

SUMMARY 
 
Persistent offender laws are generally intended to combat recidivism 

by enhancing penalties for defendants who demonstrate a pattern of 
resistance to rehabilitation. Connecticut law authorizes judges to impose 
enhanced sentences on eight classes of repeat (persistent) offenders: 

 
1. dangerous felony offenders, 
 
2. dangerous sexual offenders, 

 
3. serious felony offenders, 

 
4. serious sexual offenders, 

 
5. felony offenders,  

 
6. bigotry or bias offenders,  

 
7. stalking and harassment-related offenders, and 
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8. larceny offenders. 
 
The Connecticut Supreme Court has interpreted the laws as requiring 

a sequence of offense, conviction, and punishment for each prior offense 
before a defendant may be subjected to an enhanced penalty as a 
persistent offender (State v. Ledbetter, 240 Conn. 317 (1997)). Under this 
rule, the prior convictions must have been for separate, independent 
offenses which were disposed of in separate criminal proceedings.  

 
Prosecutors decide whether to charge a repeat offender under a 

persistent offender statute. If they do so, they must file a two part 
information, specifying the persistent offender charge and its factual 
basis in the second part (Part B). A persistent offender charge is not a 
separate offense, but puts the defendant on notice that a conviction for 
the underlying charge can subject him or her to enhanced penalties. 
Defendants who have been pardoned on the grounds of innocence for a 
prior offense on which the state is relying cannot be convicted as 
persistent offenders (CGS § 53a-40(g)). 

 
Cases involving persistent offender charges are prosecuted in two 

parts. If the defendant pleads guilty or is convicted of the underlying 
criminal charge, the second phase requires the court to determine, by 
clear and convincing evidence, whether the statutory standards for 
sentence enhancement have been met. The law specifies that defendants 
may, and in some cases must, be sentenced as persistent offenders when 
the court determines that the person’s history, character, and the nature 
and circumstances of the criminal conduct indicate that extended 
incarceration (and, under some statutes, extended community 
supervision) best serve the public interest. The defendant decides 
whether a judge or jury makes this determination. 

 
Tables 1-8 show the criminal convictions and sentence enhancements 

under each of the persistent offender statutes. Table 9 shows 
Connecticut’s statutory crime classifications and sentencing ranges; 
Table 10 shows the six larceny classifications. 

PERSISTENT DANGEROUS FELONY OFFENDER 
 
A “persistent dangerous felony offender” is an individual awaiting 

sentencing for a violent felony who has previously been sentenced to 
more than one year in prison for the same or other specified violent 
crimes (CGS §§ 53a-40(a)(1) and -40(a)(2)). For the second, separate 
conviction, the law requires the court to impose a prison sentence of up 
to 40 years rather than the term statutorily specified for the underlying 
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crime. It must impose a sentence of up to life imprisonment (statutorily 
defined as 60 years) for a third conviction (CGS § 53a-40(h)). 

 
Table 1 lists the crimes and sentence enhancements under the 

persistent dangerous felony offender law. 

PERSISTENT DANGEROUS SEXUAL OFFENDER 
 
A “persistent dangerous sexual offender” is a person awaiting 

sentencing for sexual assault in the 1st or 3rd degree, aggravated sexual 
assault in the 1st degree, or sexual assault in the 3rd degree with a 
firearm who has previously been sentenced to at least one year in prison 
for a serious felony, including sex offenses (CGS § 53a-40(b)).  

 
The court must impose a sentence of imprisonment and a period of 

special parole which together constitute a life sentence in lieu of the 
statutory sentence for the underlying crime (53a-40(i)). 

 
Table 2 lists the crimes and sentence enhancements under the 

persistent dangerous sexual offender law. 

PERSISTENT SERIOUS FELONY OFFENDER 
 
A “persistent serious felony offender” is a person awaiting sentencing 

for a felony who has previously been convicted of a crime for which he or 
she was sentenced to at least one year in prison (CGS § 53a-40(c)). 
Connecticut law defines a crime as a felony or misdemeanor (CGS § 53a-
24(a)). The court may subject the offender to a sentence of imprisonment 
for the next more serious degree of felony in lieu of the statutory 
sentence for the underlying crime (CGS § 53a-40(j)). 

 
Table 3 lists the crimes and sentence enhancements under the 

persistent serious felony offender law. 

PERSISTENT SERIOUS SEXUAL OFFENDER  
 
A “persistent serious sexual offender” is a person awaiting sentencing 

for fondling a child or 1st or 2nd degree sexual assault who has previously 
been sentenced to imprisonment for more than one year for any of those 
crimes (CGS § 53a-40(d)). The court may impose a sentence of 
imprisonment and a period of special parole which together constitute 
the maximum sentence for the next more serious degree of felony (53a-
40(k)). 

 



   
August 30, 2007 Page 4 of 12 2007-R-0481 

 

Table 4 lists the crimes and sentence enhancements under the 
persistent serious sexual offender law.  

PERSISTENT FELONY OFFENDER  
 
A “persistent felony offender” is a person awaiting sentencing for any 

A, B, C, or unclassified felony with two separate, prior convictions for A, 
B, C, or unclassified felonies (CGS § 53a-40(f)). The court may impose a 
sentence of imprisonment for the next more serious degree of felony. The 
sentence must include a three-year mandatory minimum period of 
incarceration (CGS § 53a-40(m)).  

 
Table 5 lists the crimes and sentence enhancements under the 

persistent felony offender statute. 

PERSISTENT OFFENDERS OF CRIMES INVOLVING BIGOTRY OR 
BIAS 

 
A “persistent offender of crimes involving bigotry or bias” is a person 

awaiting sentencing for (1) depriving another of their civil rights based on 
their religion, national origin, alienage, color, race, sex, blindness, or 
physical disability; (2) committing the previous offense while wearing a 
mask or hood; or (4) 1st, 2nd, or 3rd degree intimidation based on bigotry 
or bias. The court must impose the sentence for the next most serious 
felony or misdemeanor, as the case may be. If the crime for which the 
sentence is to be imposed is a class A misdemeanor, the court must 
impose the sentence for a class D felony (CGS § 53a-40a). 

 
Table 6 lists the crimes and sentencing enhancements under the 

statute. 

PERSISTENT OFFENDERS OF CRIMES INVOLVING ASSAULT, 
STALKING, TRESPASS, THREATENING, HARASSMENT, OR 
CRIMINAL VIOLATIONS OF PROTECTIVE OR RESTRAINING ORDERS 

  
A “persistent offender of crimes involving assault, stalking, trespass, 

threatening, harassment, criminal violation of a protective order or 
criminal violation of a restraining order” is a person awaiting sentencing 
for 2nd degree threatening, stalking or harassment; 3rd degree assault; 1st 
or 2nd degree criminal trespass; or criminal violation of a protective or 
restraining order. The offender must have been convicted within the past 
five years or within five years of being released from prison for the prior 
conviction (whichever is later) for committing: 

 
1. any offense listed above; 
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2. a capital or class A felony;  

 
3. a class B felony, except 1st degree promoting prostitution and 1st 

degree larceny;  
 

4. a class C felony, except 2nd degree promoting prostitution and 
bribing jurors;  

 
5. 2nd or 3rd degree assault or criminal trespass, 3rd degree burglary 

or robbery, 3rd degree sexual assault, 2nd degree stalking or 
harassment; or  

 
6. threatening, unlawful restraint, criminal use of a firearm, reckless 

burning, or violating a protective or restraining order.  
 
The court must impose the sentence for the next most serious felony 

or misdemeanor, as the case may be. If the crime for which the sentence 
is to be imposed is a class A misdemeanor, the court must impose the 
sentence for a class D felony (CGS § 53a-40d). 

 
Table 7 lists the crimes and sentencing enhancements under the 

statute. 

PERSISTENT LARCENY OFFENDER 
 
A “persistent larceny offender” is a person awaiting sentencing for 4th, 

5th, or 6th degree larceny who has two separate, prior larceny convictions. 
The court may impose the sentence for a class D felony. (The underlying 
larceny offenses are all misdemeanors.) 

 
Table 8 lists the crimes and sentencing enhancements under the 

persistent larceny offender statute. 
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Table 1: Persistent Dangerous Felony Offender 

 
Current Conviction 
 

Previous Conviction1

(Court imposed 
sentence must 
exceed 1 yr.) 

Sentence Enhancement 
(Mandatory) 

CGS § 53a-40(a)(1)(A) 
• Manslaughter 
• Arson 
• Kidnapping 
• 1st or 2nd deg. 

robbery 
• 1st deg. assault 

• Murder 
• Manslaughter 
• Arson 
• Kidnapping 
• 1st or 2nd deg. 

robbery 
• 1st deg. assault 
• 1st deg. sexual 

assault, including 
aggravated sexual 
assault 

• 3rd deg. deg. 
sexual assault, 
including with a 
firearm 

• For second separate 
conviction: 
imprisonment for up to 
40 years 

• For third separate 
conviction: 
imprisonment for up to 
life (60 years) 

CGS § 53a-40(a)(2)(A) 
• 1st deg. sexual 

assault, 
including 
aggravated 
sexual assault 

• 3rd deg. sexual 
assault, 
including with 
firearm 

• Murder 
• Manslaughter 
• Arson  
• Kidnapping 
• 1st or 2nd deg. 

robbery 
• 1st deg. assault 

• For second separate 
conviction: 
imprisonment for up to 
40 years 

• For third separate 
conviction: 
imprisonment for up to 
life (60 years) 

 

                                       
1 Includes criminal attempts and convictions under predecessor statutes or for 

substantially similar offenses prosecuted elsewhere. 



   
August 30, 2007 Page 7 of 12 2007-R-0481 

 

Table 2: Persistent Dangerous Sexual Offender 
 

Current Conviction Prior Conviction2

(Court-imposed 
sentence must 
exceed 1 yr.) 

Sentence Enhancement 
(Mandatory) 

• 1st deg. sexual 
assault, including 
aggravated sexual 
assault 

• 3rd deg. sexual 
assault, including 
with firearm 

• Any crime 
listed at left 

 

• Combined prison and 
special parole terms 
must equal life 
sentence (60 years) 

1 Includes criminal attempts and convictions under predecessor statutes or for 
substantially similar offenses prosecuted elsewhere . 

 
 

Table 3: Persistent Serious Felony Offender3

 
Current Conviction Prior Conviction4

(Court-imposed 
sentence must 
exceed 1 yr.) 

Sentence Enhancement 
(Discretionary) 

• Any felony • Any felony or 
misdemeanor 

• Imprisonment for next 
most serious deg. of 
felony  

 

                                       
2 Includes criminal attempts and convictions under predecessor statutes or for 
substantially similar offenses prosecuted elsewhere 
 
3 Excludes situations in which the present conviction is for a crime covered under the 
persistent dangerous felony offender provision (CGS § 53a-40(a)(1)) but the prior 
conviction was not 
 
4 Includes criminal attempts and convictions under predecessor statutes or for 
substantially similar offenses prosecuted elsewhere  
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Table 4: Persistent Serious Sexual Offender5

 
Current Conviction Prior Conviction 

(Court-imposed 
sentence must 
exceed 1 yr.) 6

Sentence Enhancement 
(Discretionary) 

• Risk of injury to a 
minor 

• 1st deg. sexual 
assault, including  

• aggravated sexual 
assault 

• Spousal rape 
• 2nd deg. sexual 

assault 
• 3rd deg. sexual 

assault, including 
with firearm 

• Any 
qualifying 
offense under 
the persistent 
serious felony 
offender 
statute 

• Combined prison and 
special parole periods 
equal maximum sentence 
for next most serious deg. 
of felony 

 
 

Table 5: Persistent Felony Offenders 
 

Current Conviction Prior Conviction Sentence Enhancement 
(Discretionary) 

• Any A, B, C, or 
unclassified 
felony 

• 2 separate prior 
convictions for 
any of the 
felonies listed at 
left 

• Imprisonment for the 
next more serious deg. 
of felony; 3 year 
mandatory minimum 

 

                                       
5 Excludes defendants who qualify as persistent dangerous sexual offenders 
6 Includes convictions under predecessor statutes 
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Table 6: Persistent Offenders Of Crimes Involving Bigotry or Bias 

 
Current Conviction Prior Conviction Sentence Enhancement 

(Mandatory) 
• Deprivation of 

civil rights based 
on religion, 
national origin, 
alienage, color, 
race, sex, 
blindness, or 
physical 
disability, 
including while 
wearing a hood 
or mask 

• 1st, 2nd, or 3rd 
deg. intimidation 
based on bigotry 
or bias  

• Same as those 
listed at left, 
and including 
predecessor 
statutes 

 

• Imprisonment for the 
next most serious felony 
or misdemeanor, as the 
case may be 

• Imprisonment for class D 
felony if offense is class A 
misdemeanor 
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Table 7: Persistent Stalking and Related Offenses 
 

Current Conviction Prior Conviction 
(committed within 5 
yrs. or within 5 yrs. 

of release, 
whichever is later) 

Sentence Enhancement 
(Mandatory) 

• 1st or 2nd deg. 
criminal 
trespass 

• 2nd deg. 
threatening, 
stalking, or 
harassment  

• 3rd deg. assault 
• Criminal 

violation of 
protective or 
restraining order  

 

• Any offense listed 
at left 

• Any capital or 
class A felony 

• Class B felonies 
except 1st deg. (a) 
promoting 
prostitution and 
(b) larceny 

• Class C felonies 
except 2nd deg. 
promoting 
prostitution or 
jury bribes 

• 2nd deg. assault, 
including with a 
firearm or of 
victim who is 
elderly, blind, 
disabled, mentally 
retarded, or 
pregnant 

• 3rd deg. sex 
assault, including 
with a firearm 

• 1st deg. unlawful 
restraint 

• 3rd deg. burglary, 
including with a 
firearm 

• 3rd deg. robbery 
• Reckless burning 
• Criminal use of 

firearm or 
electronic defense 
weapon 

• Imprisonment for the 
next most serious 
felony or 
misdemeanor, as the 
case may be 

• Imprisonment for class 
D felony if offense is 
class A misdemeanor 
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Table 8: Persistent Larceny Offenders 
 

Current Conviction Prior Conviction Sentence Enhancement 
(Discretionary) 

• 4th, 5th, or 6th 
deg. larceny 

• 2 separate prior 
larceny 
convictions, 
including under 
predecessor 
statutes 

• Class D felony 

  

BACKGROUND 
 
Crimes 

 
The law authorizes courts to impose fines, imprisonment, or both 

when sentencing a convicted criminal. They must specify the period of 
incarceration for anyone so sentenced. The prison terms below represent 
the range within which a judge must set the sentence. Some crimes have 
a mandatory minimum sentence or a minimum sentence higher than the 
minimum term specified in the table. 

 
Repeated offenses may result in a higher maximum than specified 

here. 
 

Table 9: Crime Classifications and Sentencing Ranges 
 

Classification of Crime Prison Sentence Range 
Capital felony Execution or life (60 years) 
Class A felony (murder) 25 to 60 years  
Class A felony 10 to 25 years 
Class B felony 1 to 20 years 
Class C felony 1 to 10 years 
Class D felony 1 to 5 years 
Class A misdemeanor up to 1 year 
Class B misdemeanor up to 6 months 
Class C misdemeanor up to 3 months 

 
Larceny 

 
There are six different classifications of larceny, generally depending 

on the value of the property illegally obtained. 
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Table 10: Larceny Offenses 
 

Deg. Value of Property Classification of Crime 
First Over $10,000 Class B felony 
Second Over $5,000 Class C felony 
Third Over $1,000 Class D felony 
Fourth Over $500 Class A misdemeanor 
Fifth Over $250 Class B misdemeanor 
Sixth Up to $250 Class C misdemeanor 
 
 

SP:ro 


