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Attached is a comparison of the Federal Family and Medical Leave Act, the
Connecticut Family and Medical Leave Act for state employees and the
Connecticut Family and Medical Leave Act for private sector employees.

Teachers in Connecticut are covered by the federal FMLA and not the state
FMLA. (Page 1) State employees, however, are covered by both the federal
and state FMLA laws. This means, among other things, that a teacher in a
civil union is not entitled to FMLA leave to care for his/her civil union
partner whereas a state employee is entitled to such leave. This is because,
although both the federal FMLA and the state FMILLA allow leave to be taken
to care for a “spouse” with a serious illness, the definition of “spouse” under
federal law “... refers only to a person of the opposite sex who is a husband
or a wife.” (Page 5). By contrast, under Connecticut law, the definition of
“spouse” includes partners in a civil union (Page 5). Under Connecticut law,
civil union partners have all of the statutory benefits and protections as are
granted to spouses in a marriage. (Page 5). '

If this legislation passes, any ofher benefits under the Connecticut FMLA
which are greater than those provided under the federal FMLA would be

—_.__.___available to teachers. This is because the federal FMLA provides a “floor” =

upon which states may provide greater benefits. (Page 6) An example of this
is that teachers would be entitled to twenty-four weeks of leave within a
twenty-four month period under Connecticut’s FMLA rather than the lesser
benefit of twelve weeks within any twelve month period under federal law.
It is also possible that a teacher could get thirty-six weeks of leave in a two
year period by combining the two statutes. (Page 6) This is a benefit that
state employees have at the present time.



COMPARISION BETWEEN FEDERAL FAMILY MEDICAL LEAVE ACT (FMLA) AND STATE

FAMILY MEDICAL LEAVE ACT

STATE EMPLOYEES

CONNECTICUT FMLA

FEDERAL FMLA

Who is
covered?

C.G.S. Section 5-248a
(1987)

State employees

"Full-time

5-196(12)
employee" means an
employee holding a

position normally requiring
thirty-five hours or more
of service

in each week.

C.G.S. Section 31-51kk
(1996)

Private employees

(4) Employer....employs 75
or more employees....

Does not _ cover state,

‘municipality local/regional

BOE, and private or
parochial elementary or
secondary school.

29 C.F.R. Section 825.104
(1993)

(a)....Public agencies without
regard to the number of
employees employed. Public
as well as private elementary
and secondary schools are

also covered employers
without regard to the
number of employees
employed. '

29 C.F.R. Section 825.104

(d) ....Private employer with
50 or more employees




STATE EMPLOYEES

CONNECTICUT FMLA

FEDERAL FMLA

Amount
of Leave

C.G.S. Section 5-248a

(a)(1) and (a)(2) 24 weeks
within any 2 year period.

C.G.S. Section 31-5111

(a)(1)16 workweeks of
leave during any 24 month
period.

(a)(1)twenty-four-month

period to be determined
utilizing any omne of the
following methods: (A)
Consecutive calendar
years; (B) any fixed twenty-
four-month period, such as
two consecutive fiscal years
or a twenty-four-month
period measured forward
from an employee's first
date of employment; (C) a
twenty-four-month period
measured forward from an
employee's first day - of
leave taken under sections
31-51kk  to 31-51qq,
inclusive; or (D) a rolling
twenty-four-month period
measured backward from

‘an employee's first day of

leave taken under sections
31-51kk to 31-51qq,
inclusive,

29 C.F.R. Section 825.200

(a) ...a total of 12
workweeks of
leave during any 12-month
period.

(b) An employer is
permitted to choose any one
of the following methods for
determining the *“12-month
period'" in which the 12
weeks of leave entitlement
occurs:

(1) The calendar year;

(2) Any fixed 12-month
““leave year,'" such as a fiscal
year, a year required by
State law, or a year starting
on an employee's
“‘anniversary'' date;

(3) The 12-month period
measured forward from the
date any employee's first
FMLA leave begins; or,

(4) A rolling" 12-month
period measured backward
from the date an
employee uses any FMLA
leave




STATE EMPLOYEES

CONNECTICUT FMLA

FEDERAL FMLA

Reason
for Leave

(a)(1) Family

C.G.S. Section 5-248a

leave of
absence

—-birth or adoption of a

child of such employee

--the serious illness of a |

child, spouse or parent of
such employee

(a)(2) Medical leave of
absence
--serious illness of such
employee
--for such employee to

| serve as an organ or bone

marrow donor

(same amount of time as

FMLA listed above)

C.G.S. Section 31-5111

(a)(2) Leave under this
subsection may be taken
for one or more of the
following reasons:

(A) Upon the birth of a
son or daughter of the
employee;

(B) Upon the placement
of a son or daughter with
the employee for adoption
or foster care;

(C) In order to care for
the spouse, or a son,
daughter or parent of the
employee, if such spouse,
son, daughter or parent has
a serious health condition;

(D) Because of a serious
health condition of the
employee; or

(E) In order to serve as
an organ or bone marrow
donor.

29 C.F.R. Section 825.112

(a) Employers covered by
FMLA are required to grant
leave to eligible employees:

(1) For birth of a son or
daughter, and to care for the
newborn child;

(2) For placement with the
employee of a son or
daughter for adoption or
foster care; 4

(3) To care for the
employee's  spouse, son,
daughter, or parent with a
serious health condition;

(4) Because of a serious
health condition that makes
the employee unable to
perform the functions of the
employee's job.




STATE EMPLOYEES

CONNECTICUT FMLA

FEDERAL FMLA

Paid
leave

C.G.S. Section 5-248a

(a)(2) Any such leave of
absence shall be without

pay.

C.G.S. Section 31-5111

(e)(2)(A) An eligible
employee may elect, or an
employer may require the
employee, to substitute any
of the accrued paid
vacation leave, personal
leave or family leave of the
employee for leave
provided under
subparagraph (A), (B) or
(3) of subdivision (2) of
subsection (a) of this
section for any part of this
16 week period...

(e)(2)(B) An eligible
employee may elect, or an
employer may require the
employee, to substitute any
of the accrued paid
vacation leave, personal
leave, or medical or sick
leave of the employee for
leave  provided under
subparagraph (C), (D) or
(E) of subdivision (2) of
subsection (a) of this
section for any part of the

‘sixteen-week period of such

said
that

under
except

leave
subsection,

‘nothing in section 5-248a or

sections 31-51kk to 31-
51qq, inclusive, shall
require an employer to
provide paid sick leave or
paid medical leave in any
situation in which such
employer would not
normally provide any such
paid leave.

29 C.F.R. Section 825.207

(a) Generally, FMLA leave
is unpaid. However, under
the circumstances described
in this section, FMLA
permits an eligible employee
to choose to substitute paid
leave for FMLA leave. If an
employee does not choose to
substitute  accrued paid
leave, the employer may
require the employee to
substitute accrued paid leave
for FMLA

leave.

(b) Where an employee has
earned or accrued paid
vacation, personal or family
leave, that paid leave may be
substituted for all or part of
any (otherwise) unpaid
FMLA leave relating to
birth, placement of a child
for adoption or foster care,
or care for a spouse, child or
parent who has a serious
health condition. ....

(¢) ....An employer is not
required to allow
substitution of paid sick or
medical leave for unpaid
FMLA leave “in any
situation"' where the
employer's uniform policy
would not normally allow
such paid leave....




'STATE EMPLOYEES

CONNECTICUT FMLA

FEDERAL FMLA

Definition

-the

C.G.S. Section 46b-38nn

Equality of benefits,
protections and
responsibilities. Parties to a
civil union shall have all the
same benefits, protections
and responsibilities under
law, whether derived from
general statutes,
administrative regulations
or court rules, policy,
common law or any other
source of civil law, as are
granted to spouses in a
marriage, which is defined
as the union of one man
and one woman.

Section 46b-3800

Applicability of statutes to
civil unions and parties to a
civil union. Wherever in
the general
terms "spouse", "family",
"immediate family",
"dependent", "next of kin"
or any other term that
denotes the spousal
relationship are used or
defined, a party to a civil
union shall be included in
such use or definition, and
wherever in the general
statutes, except sections 7-
45 and 17b-137a,
subdivision (4) of section
45a-727a, and sections 46b-
20 to 46b-34, inclusive, 46b-
38nn and 46b-150d, the
term "marriage" is used or
defined, a civil union shall
be included in such use or
definition.

statutes the

Same as state employees

Same as state employees

29 C.F.R. Section 825.113

(a) Spouse means a husband
or wife as defined or
recognized under State law for
purposes of marriage in the
State where the employee
resides, including common law
marriage in States where it is
recognized.

1USC7

Definition of “marriage” and
“spouse”

In determining the meaning of
any Act of Congress, or of any
ruling, regulation, or
interpretation of the various
administrative bureaus and
agencies of the United States,
the word “marriage” means

| only a legal union between one

man and one woman as
husband and wife, and the
word “spouse” refers only to a
person of the opposite sex who
is a husband or a wife.




States and Federal FMLA:

Section 825.701 - (a) Nothing in FMLA supersedes any provision of State or local law that provides
greater family or medical leave rights than those provided by FMLA. The Department of Labor will
not, however, enforce State family or medical leave laws, and States may not enforce the FMLA.
Employees are not required to designate whether the leave they are taking is FMLA leave or leave
under State law, and an employer must comply with the appropriate (applicable) provisions of both.
An employer covered by one law and not the other has to comply only with the law under which it is
covered. Similarly, an employee eligible under only one law must receive benefits in accordance with
that law. If leave qualifies for FMLA leave and leave under State law, the leave used counts against
the employee's entitlement under both laws.

Examples of the interaction between FMLA and State laws include:

(1) If State law provides 16 weeks of leave entitlement over two years, an employee would be
entitled to take 16 weeks one year under State law and 12 weeks the next year under FMLA. Health
benefits maintenance under FMLA would be applicable only to the first 12 weeks of leave
entitlement each year. If the employee took 12 weeks the first year, the employee would be entitled to
a maximum of 12 weeks the second year under FMLA (not 16 weeks). An employee would not be
entitled to 28 weeks in one year.

(2) If State law provides half-pay for employees temporarlly disabled because of pregnancy for six
weeks, the employee would be entitled to an additional six weeks of unpaid FMLA leave (or accrued
paid leave). '

(3) A shorter notice period under State law must be allowed by the employer unless an employer
has already provided, or the employee is requesting, more leave than required under State law. =

(4) If State law provides for only one medical certification, no additional certifications may be
required by the employer unless the employer has already provided, or the employee is requesting,
more leave than required under State law.

(5) If State law provndes six weeks of leave, which may include leave to care for a serlously-lll
grandparent or a ““spouse equivalent,"" and leave was used for that purpose, the employee is still
entitled to 12 weeks of FMLA leave, as the leave used was provided for a purpose not covered by -
FMILA. If FMLA leave is used first for a purpose also provided under State law, and State leave has
thereby been exhausted the employer would not be required to provnde additional leave to care for
the grandparent or *“spouse equivalent."

(6) If State law prohibits mandatory leave beyond the actual period of pregnancy disability, an
instructional employee of an educational agency subject to special FMLA rules may not be required
to remain on leave until the end of the academic term, as permitted by FMLA under certain
circumstances. (See Subpart F of this part.)



