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Testimony: 
Statistics: 

Approximately 350,000 Americans die of sudden cardiac arrest every year 
More than 50,000 deaths could have been prevented if someone had initiated 
the Cardiac Chain of Survival and an automated external defibrillator had 
been available 
In the time you have finished this testimony sudden cardiac arrest will have 
taken another life 

Cost of an Automated External Defibrillator (AED): $1000.00-$3,000 per unit. 
Value of a Life: Priceless 
Currently, every Connecticut coach is required to obtain: 

1) First Aid Certification 
2) CPR Certification 

AED training for these coaches can be included in their bi-annual training adding only 
one more hour to the certification process. Maintenance of the AED requires 2 minutes 
per day to assure proper functioning of the device. Once coaches are certified emergency 
personnel would then not be needed to attend athletic events with AED present saving 
money and medical resources. 

Liability: Good Samaritan Laws- The Connecticut General Statute 52-557b (2000) 
protects rescuers from legal repercussions in the event that they inadvertently make a 
mistake in treating a victim. This statute provides immunity for rescuers and 
encourages/requires CPR & AED training to American Heart Association or American 
Red Cross standards. 

Education leading to certification in CPR: 
Choices offered by the American Heart Association (AHA) regarding CPR certification 
include: 

Heartsaver or Heartsaver AED courses- AHA Instructor lead class 
Heartsaver AED Anytime course: Video-lead classes can be used with one 
person or large group of people. Requires AHA Instructor to come evaluate skills 
within 60 days of watchinglpracticing with video. 

Automated External Defibrillators should be available at all sporting events, not just for 
children or young adults, but also for coaches, spectators and families who attend these 
sporting events. On February 27,2007, Texas Senate Education Committee approved the 
measure to require all Texas schools to have at least one AED on each campus. They are 
required to be on hand during athletic events on school campuses. I am hopeful that we 
can follow Texas' lead and offer the same life-saving devices in schnnls 2nd at 211 a t h l ~ t i r  

events. 
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