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Subject: Request for Approval to Testify - John A. McCarthy - HB No. 5741

Request for Approval for Testimony - March 16, 2006 - Labor Committee

1. HB 5741 - OPPOSE
AN ACT CONCERNING THE PREVAILING WAGE THRESHOLDS

We oppose any increase in the prevailing wage threshold. (We received approval to testify in opposition to
a similar bill in the Labor Committee last week.)
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AMENDED TESTIMONY ON MARCH 14, 2006
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2. 5B 58 - AN ACT CONCERNING PROTECTION OF MINORS IN THE WORKPLACE

We thank the committee for raising this Governor's bill. Commissioner Cashman is unable to be here
today. He is at an out-of-state meeting. am testifying on his behalf

BACKGROUND:
The bill is a response to violations of Connecticut law by Wal-Mart.

Connecticut has a long history of statutes protecting minors in the workplace. With very limited
exceptions minors under the age 18 are prohibited from working in hazardous occupations and are limited
in the hours they may work. There have been violations of these Connecticut statutes.

The proposal has a two-fold purpose. It will increase present penalties to make them commensurate to
these violations and it will create a strong deterrent to future violations. Some examples of past violations
in Connecticut include: Wal-Mart - 3 violations of individuals under the age of 18 performing hazardous
work/working with compactors/bailers; 23 individuals working without working papers. Other examples
include: Death of a minor performing hazardous work (logging), death of a minor working on a wood
chipper, minors performing work on a deli slicer, minors 12 and 13 years old employed by a landscaper
and a large number of violations of minors working beyond hours allowed including a large open case
under investigation at this time.

The bill replaces a series of old individual penalties for violations of statutes protecting minors. The bill

will double the present civil penalty from $300 for each violation to $600 for each violation, In addition
violators are subject to fines of between $2000 to $5000 and subject up to 5 years in prison.

Thank you



