Connecticut laws/regulations;

OLR Research Report

January 31, 2003




By: Jerome Harleston, Senior Attorney

You asked about the status of physician profiles that require disclosure of medical malpractice information.

The Physician Profile Survey (see attachment) required by P. A. 99-284 is posted on and may be downloaded from the Department of Public Health’s (DPH) website at http: //www. state. ct. us/dph.

In addition to biographical, educational and physician practice information, the profile requires doctors to disclose information about any in or out-of-state medical malpractice judgment, settlement, or arbitration award in which payment was awarded to a complaining party in the last 10 years.

The survey requires the disclosure of the following information:

The survey also requires doctors to disclose any hospital disciplinary actions or felony convictions in-or out-of-state within the last 10 years.

It requires doctors to certify that the information provided is true and accurate to the best of their knowledge and that they understand that providing false information is grounds for suspending or revoking their license to practice medicine in Connecticut.

The DPH has also established requirements (see attachment) for hospitals and outpatient surgical facilities to report class “A,” “B,” “C” and “D” adverse events (P. A. 02-125). An adverse event is an injury that was caused by or is associated with medical management and that results in death or measurable disability. They include sentinel events for which the Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations requires remediation plans.

Class “A” is an event that has resulted in or is associated with a patient’s death or the immediate danger of death.

Class “B” is an event that has resulted in or is associated with a patient’s serious injury or disability or the immediate danger of serious injury or disability.

Class “C” is an event that has resulted in or is associated with the physical or sexual abuse of a patient.

Under DPH rules class “A,” “B” and “C” adverse events require a verbal report to DPH within 24 hours after the event occurred and a written report within 72 hours after it occurred.

Class “D” are events that are not class “A,” “B,” or “C”. Class “D” event must be reported DPH quarterly and verbal reports are not required.

Among other things, the verbal report must include notification to the Medical Examiner’s office, if applicable, and a brief summary of the event and the patient’s conditions.

JH: ts