Topic:
LICENSING; OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING; TRADE REGULATION; SECURITY PERSONNEL;
Location:
SECURITY PERSONNEL;
Scope:
Connecticut laws/regulations;

OLR Research Report


February 8, 2002

 

2002-R-0127

SECURITY GUARD LICENSING IN SELECT STATES

 

By: Veronica Rose, Principal Analyst

You asked if surrounding states require security guards to be licensed, and if yes, you want to know the fees and how frequently the license must be renewed.

Like Connecticut, the five surrounding states require businesses that provide security services to be licensed. All, except Massachusetts, require licensees to register their security guard employees with a state entity. All set criteria that licensees and guards must meet.

Table 1 shows the fees and credential renewal frequency. At $600 per year for a license applicant who is an individual, Connecticut has the highest license fee; Vermont has the lowest, at $220 for its initial two-year license and $225 for renewals.

TABLE 1: SECURITY GUARD LICENSING FEES IN SELECT STATES*

State

Occupation

Credential Required

Fee

Credential Valid For

Original Application

Renewal Application

Connecticut

Security company or business

License

(CGS 29-153)

$600 for individual & $750 for agency (CGS 29-155c)

$450 for Individual & $600 for agency (CGS 29-155c)

1 year

 

Security guard

Registration with public safety commissioner

(CGS 29-156a)

$13

(CGS 29-156a)

Not required

Not specified

Maine

Security company or business

License

(Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 32 9404)

$400

(Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 32 9407)

$200

(Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 32 9408)

1 year

(Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 32 9408)

 

Security guard

Licensee must notify public safety commissioner when he hires guards (Me. Rev. Stat. Tit. 32 9410-A)

None

None

NA

Massachusetts

Security company or business

License

(Mass Gen. Laws Ann. Ch. 147 23)

$550

(fee determined annually)

$150

(fee determined annually)

1 year

(Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. Ch.147 25)

 

Security guard

None but licensee must keep records of employees and the State Police check these randomly

None

None

NA

New York

Security company or business

License

(N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law 72)

$300 for an individual and $400 for a firm, partnership, or limited liability company

(N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law 74)

$300 for an individual and $400 for a firm, partnership, or limited liability company

(N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law 78)

2 years

(N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law 74)

 

Security guard

Registration with Department of State (N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law 89-h)

$36 for application processing and for initial biennial registration, plus cost of search and document retention

(N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law 89-h)

$25

(N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law 89-m)

2 years

(N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law 89-h)

Rhode Island

Security company or business

License

(R.I. Gen Laws 5-5.1-7)

$400

(R.I. Gen Laws 5-5.1-13)

400

(R.I. Gen Laws 5-5.1-13)

2 years

(R.I. Gen Laws 5-5.1-13)

 

Security guard

Registration with attorney general

(R.I. Gen Laws 5-5.1-18)

Included in the $400 fee above

Included in the $400 fee above

Not specified

Vermont

Security company or business

License

(Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 26 3174)

$220

(Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 26 3178a)

$225

(Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 26 3178a)

2 years

 

Security guard

Registration with state Board of Private Investigative and Security Services (Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 26 3176)

$25 for unarmed registrants & $60 for armed registrants

(Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 26 3178a)

$40 for all registrants

(Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 26 3178a)

2 years

(Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 21 3178a)

* Most states have separate fees for combination licenses, such as private detective/security guard. For brevity's sake, these are not shown here.

VR:eh