Topic:
AGE OF MAJORITY; GAMBLING;
Location:
GAMBLING;
Scope:
Connecticut laws/regulations;

OLR Research Report


May 10, 2001

 

2001-R-0477

GAMBLING AGE IN CONNECTICUT

 

By: Veronica Rose, Principal Analyst

You want to know the minimum age at which people can gamble in Connecticut.

The minimum age is (1) 21 for casino gaming; (1) 18 for lottery, off-track betting (OTB), and parimutuel gambling, and (3) 18 for sealed tickets and, with exceptions, Las Vegas Nights. There are no age restrictions for bingo and bazaars and raffles (Table 1).

Table 1: Minimum Gambling Age in Connecticut

Gambling Activity

Minimum Gambling Age

Comments

Casino Gambling

21 for gambling at the two Indian casinos (Section 3(e) of the Federal Gaming Procedures and Tribal-State Compact)

(Off-reservation casino gambling is illegal.)

Lottery

18 (CGS 12-813(d))

-Any minor who buys and anyone who sells lottery tickets to a minor is guilty of a class A misdemeanor (fine up to $2,000, imprisonment for up to one year, or both).

-Minors may get lottery tickets as gifts.

OTB and Parimutuel Wagering

18 (CGS 12-576)

Anyone who knowingly permits a minor to wager and any minor who places a bet is guilty of a class A misdemeanor (fine up to $2,000, imprisonment up to one year, or both).

Sealed Tickets

18 (CGS 7-169h(e))

Violation can result in permit revocation or suspension, imposition of civil penalty of up to $200 on sealed ticket permittee, or both (CGS 7-169h(h)).

Games of Chance (Las Vegas Nights)

18 (but high school students and their guests who are at least age 16 may play games of chance at school-sponsored social events held in connection with proms and graduations. The law includes guidelines and limitations for conducting the games under these circumstances) (CGS 7-186a(b)).

-Violation can result in permit revocation or suspension, imposition of civil penalty of up to $200 on sealed ticket permittee, or both (CGS 7-186h).

Bingo

No age restriction

Bazaars and Raffles

No age restriction

VR:eh