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NOTICE TO READERS

This report provides brief highlights of the 2000 public acts affecting Insurance and Real Estate. Not all provisions of the acts are included. Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the Connecticut State Library or the House Clerk's office. Highlights of the Revised FY 01 Budget is available from the Office of Fiscal Analysis. Complete summaries of all public acts passed during the 2000 session will be available in early fall when OLR's Public Act Summary book is published, and some are now available on the OLR website.
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Automobile And Homeowners Insurance Underwriting Guidelines

This act establishes uniform procedures for insurers to file automobile liability and homeowners’ insurance underwriting rules and regulations with the insurance commissioner and sets a deadline for their approval. Underwriting rules and regulations determine which risks insurers will or will not accept. 

Prior law required insurers to file the rules and regulations by January 1, 1978 for automobile insurance and January 1, 1983 for homeowner’s insurance. Modifications had to be on file for 30 days before they became effective. 

Beginning October 1, 2000, the act requires insurers to file their rules and regulations 30 days before they become effective. The commissioner may extend the waiting period by up to 30 days by notifying the insurer within the original 30-day period. He may also authorize the use of a filing he has reviewed before the waiting period expires.

Under the act, filings are deemed approved unless the commissioner disapproves them within any waiting period. To disapprove, he must notify the insurer, specify his reasons for disapproval, and state that the filing will not become effective. Insurers aggrieved by the disapproval may request a review 

and hearing by giving the commissioner written notice within 30 days of receiving notice of disapproval. ( PA 00-7—HB 5125, effective: October 1, 2000 ).

Changes To The Real Estate Statutes

This act makes several technical changes to the real estate statutes. (PA 00-21—HB 5809, effective:  October 1, 2000).
Statutory Accounting Procedures

This act updates Connecticut’s statutory accounting rules for insurance. It requires the insurance commissioner to use the accounting rules published in the January 1, 2001 version of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ (NAIC) Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual (APPM) and Annual Statement Instructions Manual (ASIM) when analyzing the annual financial statement that insurers must file with him. The act eliminates obsolete or otherwise inconsistent financial reporting provisions of the General Statutes to implement this change.

Specifically, the act requires the following to be reported and calculated in accordance with the updated accounting rules: (1) certain reserves and loss adjustment expenses; (2) money set aside to cover unearned premium and incurred claims; and (3) the value of real or personal property owned, held, or leased by fraternal benefits societies. 

The act makes other changes to comply with the updated accounting rules. It adds operating software to the definition of “qualified asset,” modifies the term “surplus,” reduces the time period to depreciate the cost of electronic data processing equipment from five to three years, and includes operating software in the depreciation schedule.

Finally, the act revises the definition of “policy loan,” adds a definition of “capital,” and makes technical changes.

(PA 00-30—sSB 443, effective January 1, 2001) 

Assignment Of Benefits To A Dentist Or Oral Surgeon

This act prohibits insurers, health maintenance organizations (HMOs), dental service plans, and hospital and medical service corporations offering certain individual and group health insurance policies from refusing to accept or make reimbursement through an assignment of benefits by an insured, subscriber, or enrollee to a dentist or oral surgeon. The dentist or oral surgeon must charge no more than he would charge an uninsured patient for the same services and must allow the insurer, HMO, dental service plan, hospital or medical service corporation, or other entity to review his patient’s records during normal business hours if they give at least 48 hours prior notice. The prohibition applies to policies delivered, issued for delivery, renewed, continued, or amended in Connecticut beginning July 1, 2000.

The act defines an “assignment of benefits” as the transfer of dental care coverage reimbursement or other rights under an insurance policy, subscription contract, or dental service plan by an insured, subscriber, or enrollee to a dentist or oral surgeon.

The requirement applies to dental service plans, hospital and medical service plans offered by HMOs, and health insurance policies that offer the following types of coverage: (1) basic hospital expense, (2) basic medical-surgical expense, (3) major medical expense, or (4) hospital or medical expense. 

(PA 00-33—HB 5126, effective July 1, 2000).
Long-Term Care Insurance Riders On Life Insurance Policies

This act allows insurers licensed for both life and health insurance in this state to offer policies that combine, for a single premium, (1) life insurance, endowment or pure endowment insurance, or a straight or survivorship annuity and (2) long-term care coverage. It applies certain regulations governing long-term care insurance policies to long-term care riders and life insurance policies that include long-term care benefits.

The act allows insurers that offer life insurance policies with long-term care benefits to sell them in conjunction with a long-term care benefit rider. In such sales, the act (1) allows long-term care benefits under the rider to be paid after exhaustion of the life insurance policy’s cash value, (2) prohibits the long-term care rider from including any waiting period, and (3) prohibits the life insurance policy from including a waiting period greater than 100 days. It also specifies that such policies may include a provision that calculates a waiver of premium from the date benefits are paid.

Under prior law, long-term care policies could not have a waiting period that exceeded 100 days and had to have a waiver of premium in effect. Existing law continues to require insurers to explain any continuing premium payment the insured may have at the time benefits are claimed.

A waiting period is the period of time between the policy’s effective date and the date benefits begin. A waiver of premium sets the conditions under which and the length of time a policy is kept in-force without payment.

(PA 00-34—sHB 5123, effective October 1, 2000) 

Insurance Coverage For Care And Treatment Of Patients With An Ostomy

This act requires certain individual and group health insurance policies that are delivered, issued for delivery, renewed, or continued in Connecticut beginning October 1, 2000 to cover, up to $1,000 annually, medically necessary ostomy-related appliances and supplies, including collection devices, irrigation equipment and supplies, and skin barriers and protectors. Policies that cover ostomy, colostomy, ileostomy, or urostomy surgery must include this benefit.

The act prohibits using ostomy payments towards any maximum durable medical equipment benefit. It also specifies that ostomy payments may not be used to decrease policy benefits in excess of the $1,000 limit. 

The benefit applies to individual and group hospital and medical service plans offered by HMOs and health insurance policies that offer the following types of coverage: (1) basic hospital expense, (2) basic medical-surgical expense, (3) major medical expense, and (4) hospital or medical expense. 

An ostomy is a surgically formed artificial opening in the bowel or intestine. A colostomy is an artificial opening in the colon, an ilesotomy an artificial opening in the small intestine or ileum, and an urostomy an artificial opening in the tubes that run from the kidney to the bladder. (PA 00-63—HB 5120, effective October 1, 2000).
Insurance Required By Mortgage Lenders

This act broadens the prohibition against mortgage lenders requiring prospective buyers of residential real estate to purchase insurance in excess of the premises’ replacement value as a condition of granting a mortgage. It extends the prohibition to flood insurance; other extended coverage insurance; or any combination of insurance, including fire insurance. 

Prior law prohibited lenders from requiring fire insurance in excess of the premises’ replacement value. (PA 00-95—SB 445, effective October 1, 2000).

Insurance Producers And Technical Corrections

This act exempts public officials from the continuing education requirements licensed insurance producers must satisfy during the period they serve as public officials if they are barred from selling insurance during this time. The act specifies that a “public official” is any statewide elected officer, any member or member-elect of the General Assembly, or a U.S. senator or representative. 

By law, resident and nonresident insurance producers must satisfy Connecticut’s continuing education requirements. Every two years, resident producers must earn at least 24 credits from Connecticut-approved continuing education courses. Of the total, at least three credits must be in laws, regulations, and ethics, and at least six credits must be in each line of insurance for which the producer is licensed. Nonresident producers can meet Connecticut requirements when they satisfy continuing education requirements in their home state. (PA 00-105—HB 5859, effective July 1, 2000).

Method Of Payment For Automobile Insurance Claims

This act expands the methods insurers use to pay automobile physical damage and total loss claims. It adds electronic transfer and other means that provide the claimant with immediate access to funds as methods of payment. 

Prior law allowed payment by check only. (PA 00-111—sHB 5856, effective October 1, 2000).

Health Insurance Rates For Certain Small Private Schools

This act exempts from the small employer group rating law private schools that buy health insurance through a private school association-sponsored plan or arrangement.  

Small employers are individuals, firms, corporations, limited liability companies, partnerships, or associations in business for three consecutive months that employed up to 50 employees for at least 50% of the working day for the preceding 12 months. 

Small employer health plans are community rated but may take into account demographic characteristics such as age, gender, family composition, location, group size, and industry classification in determinating premium. Insurers may not inquire into the small employer’s or his employees’ health status or claims experience in determining premium. (PA 00-114—SB 407, effective upon passage). 

Restitution Orders Under The Unfair Insurance Practices Act

This act gives the insurance commissioner the authority to order violators of the Unfair Insurance Practices Act to make restitution of money obtained in violation of the act or its implementing regulations.

The commissioner may issue cease and desist orders to anyone engaged in unfair methods of competition or unfair or deceptive acts or practices. For enumerated unfair or deceptive acts or practices, he may order  (1) payment of up to $1,000 per violation up to a $10,000 maximum, or up to $5,000 per violation up to a $50,000 maximum for knowing violation; (2) revocation or suspension of a violator’s license for knowing violations; or (3) both. (PA 00-126—SB 444, effective October 1, 2000).
Commercial Real Estate Transactions And Brokers' Liens

This act establishes conditions under which real estate licensees may recover commissions, compensation, or other payments for services rendered in commercial real estate transactions and modifies the three-day advance notice of lien real estate brokers must give owners and prospective buyers.

The act specifies that there should be no statutory barrier to recovery if (1) it would be inequitable to deny recovery and (2) a licensee substantially complies with its requirements.

Under the act, a “commercial real estate transaction” involves the sale, lease, sublease, or exchange of real property other than a building or structure occupied or intended to be occupied by four or fewer families or a single building lot used for family or household purposes. 

Beginning October 1, 2000, the act prohibits licensees acting in commercial real estate transactions from initiating lawsuits to recover commissions or other payments unless their services were performed under either (1) a contract or authorization or (2) a memorandum, letter, or other writing. 

The contract or authorization must (1) be in writing, (2) include the names and addresses of the broker performing the service and the person for whom the services are performed, (3) show the date the contract was entered into or the authorization given, (4) include any contract or authorization condition, (5) be signed by the broker or his authorized agent and the person or persons for whom the acts were done or services rendered or their authorized agent, and (6) include the following statement: “THE REAL ESTATE BROKER MAY BE ENTITLED TO CERTAIN LIEN RIGHTS PURSUANT TO SECTION 20-325a OF THE CONNECTICUT GENERAL STATUTES.” 

The memorandum, letter, or other writing must (1) state for whom the licensee will act or has acted, (2) be signed by the party for whom the licensee will act or has acted, (3) state the duration of the authorization, (4) state the amount of any compensation payable to the licensee, and (5) provide notice about the lien to the owner or prospective buyer at or before the execution of the contract, authorization, memorandum, letter, or other writing. The notice must state: “THE REAL ESTATE BROKER MAY BE ENTITLED TO CERTAIN LIEN RIGHTS PURSUANT TO SECTION 20-325a OF THE CONNECTICUT GENERAL STATUTES.” The notice must be delivered to the owner or prospective buyer at or before the execution of any contract or other written agreement and may be made a part of the contract, authorization, memorandum, letter, or other writing. 

The act requires the broker to give written notice of his claim for a lien to the owner and the prospective buyer or tenant three days before the later of either the date (1) of conveyance as established in the sales contract or lease or the actual date of conveyance or (2) when the tenant takes possession.

Prior law required written notice three days before the date of the conveyance as set in the sales contract. (PA 00-160—HB 5857, effective October 1, 2000).
Sellers To Include Information On Municipal Assessments In Residential Property Disclosure Reports And Information About The Residence Address Of Criminals

This act requires the consumer protection commissioner to add, by regulation, two new statements to the residential property condition report that people offering residential real estate for sale, exchange, or lease must give prospective buyers before the execution of any binder, contract to purchase, option, or lease containing a purchase option. 

The first statement is about municipal assessments. The report must include a statement with information about the property’s sewer, water, and any other municipal assessment, including (1) whether the assessment is in effect and the amount; (2) whether there is an unpaid assessment on the property and the amount; and (3) to the extent the seller knows, whether there is reason to believe that the municipality may impose an assessment in the future.

The second statement is about the availability of certain information about people convicted of crimes.  The report must include a statement that (1) information about the residence addresses of people convicted of crimes may be obtained from law enforcement agencies or the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and (2) DPS maintains an internet site that includes the residence addresses of people required to register with DPS under the sexual offender registration law, and who have registered. (PA 00-179—sHB 563, effective October 1, 2000).

Reporting Insurance Fraud

This act requires the DPS, the workers’ compensation fraud unit, and insurance companies to report to the insurance commissioner actual or suspected incidents of insurance fraud involving arson, workers’ compensation, and automobile insurance. It requires the insurance commissioner to annually report insurance fraud information to the Insurance and Real Estate Committee. 

The act requires people, including insurers, who have actual or suspected knowledge of health insurance fraud to give notice and any evidence in their possession to the insurance commissioner.

It also requires insurers to permit the insurance commissioner or his designee to inspect their records pertaining to any actual or potential automobile insurance loss or fraud when the local police department or the departments of Public Safety or Motor Vehicles request the insurer to release any investigative information they have collected.  

Finally, the act broadens the definition of “insurance fraud” to cover acts of fraud in most major lines of insurance and “insurance company” to include corporations, associations, partnerships or other entities doing any kind or form of insurance business other than that of a fraternal benefit society, instead of only companies that offer fire, liability, and allied lines insurance to owners of 1, 2, or 3-family and seasonal dwellings. (PA 00-211—sHB 5692, effective October 1, 2000).
Self-Employed Individuals Insured Under The Small Employer Health Plan

     The act makes self-employed people eligible for small employer coverage by adding them to the definition of “small employer.” For groups containing only one member, the act allows insurers and HMOs to require proof that an individual has been self-employed for at least three consecutive months. It also eliminates HMOs’ ability to refuse to insure small employer groups of fewer than three eligible members. 

Prior law defined a small employer only as a person, firm, corporation, limited liability company, partnership, or association actively engaged in business for three consecutive months and employing no more than 50 employees. (PA 00-218—sHB 5858, effective October 1, 2000)
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NOTICE TO READERS





This report provides brief summaries of the 2000 public acts affecting children. Not all provisions of the acts are included and not all the acts listed have been signed by the governor. Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the Connecticut State Library or the House Clerk's office. Highlights of the Revised FY 01 Budget and Statutory Formula Grants to Municipalities is available from the Office of Fiscal Analysis. Complete summaries of all public acts passed during the 2000 session will be available in early fall when OLR's Public Act Summary book is published.
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