Topic:
MINIMUM WAGES;
Location:
MINIMUM WAGE;
Scope:
Federal laws/regulations;

OLR Research Report


March 20, 2000

 

2000-R-0393

MINIMUM WAGE LAWS IN THE 50 STATES

 

By: Laura Jordan, Associate Attorney

You asked what the minimum wage laws are in the 50 states.

SUMMARY

Each state's minimum wage is listed below. Ten states and the District of Columbia have a minimum wage higher than the federal minimum of $5.15 an hour (Alaska, California, Connecticut, Delaware, D.C., Hawaii, Massachusetts, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington). Oregon and Washington have the highest minimum wage, which is $6.50 an hour. Massachusetts's minimum wage is scheduled to increase to $6.75 on January 1, 2001. Seven states have no minimum wage law, so by default the federal minimum of $5.15 applies (Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee).

MINIMUM WAGE LAWS

Table 1 indicates each state's minimum wage law. States with an asterisk either have no minimum wage law, or have a law providing a lower wage than the federal law. In the latter case, the federal Fair Labor Standards Act requires the federal minimum wage to apply (29 U.S.C.A

218).

Table 1. Minimum Wage Laws

State

Wage

State

Wage

Alabama

*$5.15

Montana

$5.15

Alaska

$5.65

Nebraska

$5.15

Arizona

*$5.15

Nevada

$5.15

Arkansas

$5.15

New Hampshire

$5.15

California

$5.75

New Jersey

$5.15

Colorado

$5.15

New Mexico

*$5.15

Connecticut

$6.15

New York

$5.15

Delaware

$6.15

N. Carolina

$5.15

D.C.

$6.15

N. Dakota

$5.15

Florida

*$5.15

Ohio

*$5.15

Georgia

*$5.15

Oklahoma

$5.15

Hawaii

$5.25

Oregon

$6.50

Idaho

$5.15

Pennsylvania

$5.15

Illinois

$5.15

Rhode Island

$5.65

Indiana

$5.15

South Carolina

*$5.15

Iowa

$5.15

South Dakota

$5.15

Kansas

*$5.15

Tennessee

*$5.15

Kentucky

$5.15

Texas

*$5.15

Louisiana

*$5.15

Utah

$5.15

Maine

$5.15

Vermont

$5.75

Maryland

$5.15

Virginia

$5.15

Massachusetts

$6.00

($6.75 on 1/1/01)

Washington

$6.50

(annually indexed to inflation)

Michigan

$5.15

West Virginia

$5.15

Minnesota

$5.15

Wisconsin

$5.15

Mississippi

*$5.15

Wyoming

*$5.15

Missouri

$5.15

   

Source: U.S. Department of Labor

LJ:ro