Legislative Internship Program Connecticut General Assembly


Campus Advisors



Academic Component

Since the academic requirements of participating institutions of higher education may vary, each intern should arrange individually with his or her college or university for specific academic requirements and credits to be awarded for participation in the program. Students can earn up to twelve to fifteen credits for a full-time internship, and six to nine credits for a part-time internship.

Incoming interns are expected to participate in an intensive orientation program. During orientation interns will become familiar with the building and begin to acclimate to the work environment, receive an overview of the legislative process, an introduction to research techniques and resources, and other information necessary for the student to function as an intern. In addition, the internship program includes a series of projects designed to familiarize the intern with additional components of the political process which have an impact on the operation of the Connecticut General Assembly. Interns will be examined on the orientation materials, asked to submit weekly reflection papers, conduct interviews, and complete a bill tracking project for the session.




Program Administration

The Connecticut General Assembly Internship Program is administered by the bipartisan Committee on Legislative Staff Internships which has primary responsibility for the on-going operation of the internship program.

Day-to-day contact with interns, planning and implementation of the academic components of the program and monitoring of intern performance is carried out by the Program Director, who is an experienced professional in higher educational administration, academic advisement, and the teaching/learning process.

UNIVERSITY OF CONNECTICUT
Prof. Kimberly Bergendahl
University of Connecticut
Political Science Dept.
Monteith Building - Unit 1024
Storrs, CT 06269
(860) 486-5683
kimberly.bergendahl@uconn.edu
CONNECTICUT COMMUNITY COLLEGES STATE COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES
Professor Elle Van Dermark
History
170 Elm Street, Faculty Suite D Room 126
Enfield, CT
(860) 253-3148
LVanDermark@acc.commnet.edu
Prof. Robbin Smith
Central CT State University
Political Science Dept.
DiLoreto Hall, 208001
New Britain, CT 06050
(860) 832-2793
smithr@ccsu.edu
Prof. Marcus Lawson
Capital Community College
Political Science Dept.
950 Main Street, Room 1034
Hartford, CT 06103
(860)906-5047
MLawson@ccc.commnet.edu
Prof. Nicole Krassas
Eastern CT State University
Political Science Dept.
Webb Hall, Room 327
Willimantic, CT 06226
(860) 465-5034
krassasn@easternct.edu
Prof. Joseph Maynard
Gateway Community College
Social Science Dept.
Long Wharf Campus, Room 119
New Haven, CT 06511
(203) 285-2050
jmaynard@gwcc.commnet.edu
Prof. Kevin Buterbaugh
Southern CT State University
Political Science Dept.
Engelman Hall, Room 232-D
New Haven, CT 06515
(203) 392-5662
buterbaughk1@southernct.edu
Prof. Samantha Mannion
Housatonic Community College
Criminal Justice and Government Dept.
900 Lafayette Blvd., Room A-218
Bridgeport, CT 06608
(203) 332-5168
smannion@hcc.commnet.edu
Dr. Anthony Ciarleglio
Western CT State University
Director of Cooperative Education
Student Center, Room 227
Danbury, CT 06810
(203) 837-8265
ciarleglioa@wcsu.edu
Prof. Angelo Messore
Manchester Community College
Political Science and Economics Dept.
Lowe Building, Room 219e
Manchester, CT 06040
(860) 512-2755
amessore@mcc.commnet.edu
Ms. Melissa DeLucia
Albertus Magnus College
Internship Coordinator
Aquinas Hall, AH-226
700 Prospect Street
New Haven, CT 06511
(203) 752-3063
mldelucia@cc.albertus.edu
Prof. Tad Lincoln
Middlesex Community College
Social Science Dept.
Snow Hall, Room 508
Middletown, CT 06457
(860) 343-5817
tlincoln@mxcc.commnet.edu
Prof. Donald Greenberg
Fairfield University
Political Science Dept.
Donnarumma Hall, Room 306
Fairfield, CT 06430
(203) 254-4000  x2860
dwgreenberg@mail.fairfield.edu
Prof. Karla Ekuist-Lechner
Naugatuck Valley Community College
Social and Behavioral Science Dept.
750 Chase Parkway, K-606
Waterbury, CT 06708
(203)596-2102
kekuist@nvcc.commnet.edu
Prof. Mary Loose
Mitchell College
Humanities Dept.
437 Pequot Ave.
New London, CT 06320
(860) 701-7714
loose_m@mitchell.edu
Ms. Maureen Chalmers
Northwestern Community College
Communications Specialist
Founders Hall Annex, Room 309
Winsted, CT 06098
(860) 738-6396
mchalmers@nwcc.commnet.edu
Prof. Scott McLean
Quinnipiac University
Political Science Dept.
College of Arts and Sciences,
   Bldg. 3, Room 308
Hamden, CT 06518
(203) 582-8686
scott.mclean@quinnipiac.edu
Prof. Thomas Jackson
Norwalk Community College
Legal Assistant Program Coordinator
West Campus, Room 704D
Norwalk, CT 06854
(203) 857-7152
tjackson@ncc.commnet.edu
Prof. Gary Rose
Sacred Heart University
Political Science Dept.
Administration Building, Room 214
Fairfield, CT 06432
(203) 371-7745
roseg@sacredheart.edu
Prof. Lia Barone
Norwalk Community College
Assistant Professor of Business Law
West Campus, Room 704D
Norwalk, CT 06854
(203) 857-7333
lbarone@ncc.commnet.edu
Ms. Valerie Wilson
University of Saint Joseph
Employer Relations Coordinator
McDonough Hall, 1st floor
West Hartford, CT 06117
(860) 596-4504
vwilson@usj.edu
Prof. Jayne Battye
Quinebaug Valley Community College
Instructor of Political Science
742 Upper Maple Ave.
Danielson, CT 06239
(860) 412-7254
jbattye@qvcc.commnet.edu
Ms. Christina Billings
Post University
Associate Director of Career Services
800 Country Club Road
Waterbury, CT 06723
(203) 596-4504
cbillings@post.edu
Prof. Phillip Mayer
Three Rivers Community College
Social Science Dept.
574 New London Turnpike
Norwich, CT 06360
(860) 892-5749
pmayer@trcc.commnet.edu
Prof. William Lay
University of Bridgeport
International College
Carlson Hall, Room 227
303 University Avenue
Bridgeport, CT 06604
(203) 576-4202
wlay@bridgeport.edu
Prof. Rafaele Fierro
Tunxis Community College
Social Science Dept., F-12
271 Scott Swamp Road
Farmington, CT 06032
(860) 255-3637
rfierro@txcc.commnet.edu
Prof. Leslie Smith
University of Hartford
Dept. of Politics and Government
Hillyer Hall, Room 123-A
West Hartford, CT 06117
(860) 768-4861
lsmith@hartford.edu
  Prof. Matthew Schmidt
University of New Haven
National Security and Political Science
South Campus Hall, Room 005
West Haven, CT 06516
(203)479-4207
mschmidt@newhaven.edu

Top ▲