October 2009

View this newsletter as a Web page

In this issue: 
Communities seeking $8.25M in federal job-training dollars
So far, more than half the communities in Connecticut have applied to participate in SNAP E&T, and it's easy to understand why: The federal government would provide a 50-cent match for every dollar they spend on services to help food stamp recipients find regular employment.

See who's participating | Learn more about SNAP E&T

Legislative Task Force on Children in the Recession gets under way
A legislative task force formed by House Speaker Christopher G. Donovan to address the needs of Connecticut children and families affected by the recession held its first meeting on September 29. Read more about it



Follow us on Twitter
The Commission on Children



Children of Incarcerated Parents
In the Fatherhood section of our website, we've posted a report from the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) that gives state governments a framework for helping the children of incarcerated parents. It points to research showing that such assistance can result in reduced recidivism for the parent, healthier development of the child, and fewer cases of incarceration across generations of families.
Read it in the Fatherhood section
Remember to visit our website, at

Topics:  About Us | Policy & Legislation | Health & Safety | Education | After School | Parent Engagement

About the Commission
Created in 1985 by the Connecticut General Assembly, the 25-member Commission on Children brings together the three branches of government--legislative, executive, and judicial--as well as the private sector to promote public policies in the best interests of children. More

The Connecticut Commission on Children
18-20 Trinity Street
Hartford, CT  06106-1591
Phone: (860) 240-0290  
Fax: (860) 240-0248

Commission members: M. Alex Geertsma, M.D., F.A.A.P., Chair; George A. Coleman, Vice Chair; Mary Grace Reed, Secretary; James P. Cordier, Treasurer; Laura Lee Simon, Chair Emerita; Judith Busch; Representative Andrew M. Fleischmann; Mary K. Fox; Senator Jonathan Harris; Alison Hilding; Senator Andrew J. McDonald; Josh Piteo; Barbara J. Ruhe; Representative Toni Walker; John Yrchik. Ex-officio members: commissioners of children and families, developmental services, public health, education, social services, and correction; the secretary of policy and management; the attorney general; and the chief court administrator. More information

Commission staff:
Elaine Zimmerman, executive director; Thomas R. Brooks, director of policy and research analysis; Dawn Homer-Bouthiette, Parent Leadership Training Institute (PLTI) director; Kevin Flood, public information officer and webmaster; Mary Kate Lowndes, director of development; Rachel Levy, executive secretary; Edie Luciano, legislative secretary. Contact information

To update your e-mail address or unsubscribe from this newsletter, e-mail us here.

If someone forwarded this message to you, and you'd like to sign up for your own newsletter, visit us here.

Newsletter editor: Kevin Flood

Copyright 2009 Connecticut General Assembly - Disclaimers  - Privacy Policy