Commission on Children logo


August 10, 2011

View this as a Web page | Sign up for future issues

child's fist  

Learn about Connecticut's new anti-bullying law

On July 13, Governor Dannel Malloy signed into law Public Act 11-232, legislation that takes comprehensive steps to ensure every child’s right to learn in Connecticut public schools without fear of teasing, humiliation, or assault. To explain the law, the Commission has prepared this two-page primer (PDF).

The law's full text and legislative history | More on bullying

Hartford PLTI graduates  

Congrats to the new graduates of PLTI!

Parents in 13 communities across Connecticut graduated in June from the Parent Leadership Training Institute, a 20-week civics course facilitated by the Commission. Visit the PLTI blog for photos and news articles from the various local ceremonies as well as from the statewide ceremony, held at the Legislative Office Building in Hartford on June 29.

Learn more about PLTI

Betty Sugerman Weintraub  

Liberty Bank Foundation spotlights PLTI

The Liberty Bank Foundation has been a vital partner with the Commission in supporting the Parent Leadership Training Institute, and on June 28 the Foundation took the opportunity to explain PLTI on "Connecticut Style," the mid-day program aired by WTNH-TV, News Channel 8.

Watch the segment | Learn more about PLTI | PLTI blog

line of kids  

Connecticut's disaster planning must now address child safety

Governor Malloy has signed into law legislation that expands the state’s civil preparedness planning to include steps for ensuring that children and youth remain safe in the event of natural or man-made disasters or terrorism.

Summary of the law (PDF) | Text and history of the law | More

Valeri Whitmer  

Commission welcomes new board members

Valeri Whitmer of Wilton (pictured left) joins the Commission as an appointee of House Minority Leader Lawrence Cafero, while Donald Green of Meriden joins as a joint appointee of Senate President Pro Tem Donald E. Williams Jr. and Speaker of the House Christopher G. Donovan. All of our board members serve as volunteers.

Here's the rest of the board

The Commission on Children: 18-20 Trinity Street, Hartford, CT  06106-1591.
Phone: 860.240.0290  Fax: (860) 240-0248  Website:

About the Commission:
Created with bipartisan support in 1985 by the Connecticut legislature, the Commission on Children brings together the various levels of government, the private sector, nonprofit agencies, and philanthropy to promote public policies in the best interests of children. More

Commission members (all volunteer):
M. Alex Geertsma, M.D., F.A.A.P., Chair; George A. Coleman, Vice Chair; Mary Grace Reed, Secretary; James P. Cordier, Treasurer; Laura Lee Simon, Chair Emerita; Mary K. Fox; Robert Francis; Andrew Gibson, Ph.D.; Donald Green; Jordan E. Grossman, Ed.D.; Alison Hilding; Josh Piteo; Justine Rakich-Kelly; Barbara J. Ruhe; Ron Ward; and Valeri Whitmer. Ex-officio members: commissioners of children and families, developmental services, public health, education, social services, and correction; the secretary of policy and management; the attorney general; and the chief court administrator. More information

Commission staff:
Elaine Zimmerman, executive director; Thomas R. Brooks, director of policy and research analysis; Dawn Homer-Bouthiette, Parent Leadership Training Institute (PLTI) director; Kevin Flood, public information officer and webmaster; Mary Kate Lowndes, director of development; Edie Luciano, legislative secretary. Contact information

To update your e-mail address or unsubscribe from this newsletter, e-mail us here. If someone forwarded this message to you and you'd like to sign up for your own newsletter, visit us here.

Newsletter editor: Kevin Flood

Copyright © 2011 Connecticut General Assembly - Disclaimers  - Privacy Policy