Commission on Children logo

November 29, 2010

View this newsletter as a Web page
Youth at the bullying forum

Now online:

Bullying in the Classroom…and the Chat Room:
Ensuring that Every Student is Safe to Learn

More than 500 people gathered at the Legislative Office Building in Hartford on November 22 for a wide-ranging conversation between young people, state and federal officials, and local stakeholders on bullying and cyberbullying. The event -- sponsored by the Commission on Children, the Governor's Prevention Partnership, and the state Department of Education -- has resulted in a mountain of new resources on the issue, and we've posted them on our website. You'll find:

  • Complete video of the forum, courtesy of the Connecticut Network (CT-N);
  • The highly informative and moving PowerPoint presentation given by keynote speaker Kevin Jennings, assistant deputy secretary of the U.S. Department of Education and head of the federal office responsible for bullying and school safety issues;
  • More forum documents, including guides, fact sheets, and reports;
  • Links to television and newspaper stories about the forum; and
  • A form for signing up to receive more Commission news on bullying.

You'll find it all here.

You might also be interested in:

Trickery, Trolling, and Threats: Understanding and Addressing Cyberbullying for Educators, a full-day training created by the Anti-Defamation League for middle- and high-school educators, administrators, and student support services personnel. It will be held Friday, December 3, 2010, from 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. at the State Education Resource Center (SERC), at 25 Industrial Park Road, Middletown.

About 20 openings remain. Registration closes at noon on Thursday, December 2. To register, download this form, fill it out, and fax it to Lauren Jones at 860.632.8870. Registration may also be e-mailed to

Find us on Facebook

The Commission on Children: 18-20 Trinity Street, Hartford, CT  06106-1591.
Phone: 860.240.0290  Fax: (860) 240-0248  Website:

About the Commission:
Created in 1985 by the Connecticut General Assembly, the Commission on Children brings together the three branches of government--legislative, executive, and judicial--as well as the private sector to promote public policies in the best interests of children. More

Commission members (all unpaid):
M. Alex Geertsma, M.D., F.A.A.P., Chair; George A. Coleman, Vice Chair; Mary Grace Reed, Secretary; James P. Cordier, Treasurer; Laura Lee Simon, Chair Emerita; Representative Andrew M. Fleischmann; Mary K. Fox; Robert Francis; Andrew Gibson, Ph.D.; Jordan E. Grossman, Ed.D.; Senator Jonathan Harris; Alison Hilding; Senator Andrew J. McDonald; Josh Piteo; Justine Rakich-Kelly; Barbara J. Ruhe; Representative Toni Walker; Ron Ward; and John Yrchik. Ex-officio members: commissioners of children and families, developmental services, public health, education, social services, and correction; the secretary of policy and management; the attorney general; and the chief court administrator. More information

Commission staff:
Elaine Zimmerman, executive director; Thomas R. Brooks, director of policy and research analysis; Dawn Homer-Bouthiette, Parent Leadership Training Institute (PLTI) director; Kevin Flood, public information officer and webmaster; Mary Kate Lowndes, director of development; Edie Luciano, legislative secretary.
Contact information

To update your e-mail address or unsubscribe from this newsletter, e-mail us here.

If someone forwarded this message to you and you'd like to sign up for your own newsletter,
visit us here.

Newsletter editor: Kevin Flood

Copyright 2010 Connecticut General Assembly - Disclaimers  - Privacy Policy