January 8, 2010

View this newsletter as a Web page

Join us on Tuesday for...
'Family Civics & Parent Engagement:
Why it Matters to Connecticut'
The next meeting of the Commission on Children will feature a forum on why civically active parents and families are critical to our state's future. With a panel of experts, we'll look at how engagement makes for stronger families and stronger communities. We'll also ask: What kind of return can the state expect for investing in family civics programs and strategies? What are the opportunities for federal funding?

When: 10 a.m. Noon, Tuesday, January 12
Where: Room 1-D, Legislative Office Building, Hartford (Directions)

Watch our home page for an agenda and other details

Children in the recession legislative task force on meets January 21
The task force, formed by House Speaker Christopher G. Donovan, will meet at 10 a.m. on Thursday, January 21, in Room 2-C of the Legislative Office Building in Hartford. (Directions) Watch our home page for an agenda.

SustiNet panel looks at childhood obesity
The SustiNet Health Partnership Childhood and Adult Obesity Task Force heard presentations last month on the latest research and programs to reduce obesity, with Commission on Children Director of Policy and Research Analysis Thomas R. Brooks among those speaking.

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter!
Just click on the buttons.

About the Commission
Created in 1985 by the Connecticut General Assembly, the Commission on Children brings together the three branches of government--legislative, executive, and judicial--as well as the private sector to promote public policies in the best interests of children. More


The Connecticut Commission on Children
18-20 Trinity Street
Hartford, CT  06106-1591
Phone: (860) 240-0290  
Fax: (860) 240-0248

Commission members (all unpaid): M. Alex Geertsma, M.D., F.A.A.P., Chair; George A. Coleman, Vice Chair; Mary Grace Reed, Secretary; James P. Cordier, Treasurer; Laura Lee Simon, Chair Emerita; Judith Busch; Representative Andrew M. Fleischmann; Mary K. Fox; Senator Jonathan Harris; Alison Hilding; Senator Andrew J. McDonald; Josh Piteo; Barbara J. Ruhe; Representative Toni Walker; John Yrchik. Ex-officio members: commissioners of children and families, developmental services, public health, education, social services, and correction; the secretary of policy and management; the attorney general; and the chief court administrator. More information

Commission staff:
Elaine Zimmerman, executive director; Thomas R. Brooks, director of policy and research analysis; Dawn Homer-Bouthiette, Parent Leadership Training Institute (PLTI) director; Kevin Flood, public information officer and webmaster; Mary Kate Lowndes, director of development; Rachel Levy, executive secretary; Edie Luciano, legislative secretary. Contact information

To update your e-mail address or unsubscribe from this newsletter, e-mail us here.

If someone forwarded this message to you, and you'd like to sign up for your own newsletter, visit us here.

Newsletter editor: Kevin Flood

Copyright 2009 Connecticut General Assembly - Disclaimers  - Privacy Policy