Location:
LICENSING; PHYSICIANS;
Scope:
Connecticut laws/regulations;

OLR Research Report


October 19, 2011

 

2011-R-0370

PHYSICIAN LICENSE FEES

By: Nicole Dube, Associate Analyst

You asked for information on Connecticut's physician license fees. Specifically, you wanted to know what the current fees are and how many times they have increased since 2001. You also asked for a comparison of Connecticut fees with the following other states' fees: Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont.

CONNECTICUT PHYSICIAN LICENSE FEES

Physicians must be licensed by the Department of Public Health (DPH) to practice medicine or surgery in Connecticut (CGS 20-9). Generally, an applicant seeking licensure must successfully complete educational and training requirements, pass an examination, and pay a fee. (See OLR Report 2011-R-0081 for detailed information on physician licensure requirements.) Licenses must be renewed annually.

In 2009, the legislature increased the initial and renewal license fees from $450 to the current $565 (PA 09-3, June Special Session). Prior to 2009, the fees had not been raised since 1992 when PA 92-6, May Special Session increased it from $150 to $450.

PHYSICIAN LICENSE FEES IN CONNECTICUT AND OTHER STATES

At $565, Connecticut has the highest annualized initial and renewal fee for physicians compared to Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont. Initial licensure fees range from $420.00 in New Jersey to $150.00 in New Hampshire. Renewal fees range from $325.00 in Rhode Island to $150.00 in New Hampshire. Table 1 shows the physician license fees in these states.

Table 1: Physician License Fees in Select States

State

Initial Fee (Dollars)

Terms

(Years)

Annualized Fee

Renewal Fee

(Dollars)

Terms

(Years)

Annualized Fee

Connecticut

$565.00

1

$565.00

$565.00

1

$565.00

Maine

700.00

2

350.00

400.00

2

200.00

Massachusetts

600.00

2

300.00

600.00

2

300.00

New Hampshire

300.00

2

150.00

300.00

2

150.00

New Jersey

840.00

2

420.00

580.00

2

290.00

New York

735.00

2

367.50

600.00

2

300.00

Rhode Island

570.00

2

285.00

650.00

2

325.00

Vermont

625.00

2

312.50

500.00

2

250.00

Source: State statutes and regulations, agency websites, license renewal forms, and telephone interviews

ND:ts