Location:
LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES;
Scope:
Connecticut laws/regulations;

OLR Research Report


April 1, 2011

 

2011-R-0166

PUBLIC SAFETY AND SECURITY BILLS REPORTED TO THE FINANCE, REVENUE AND BONDING COMMITTEE

By: Veronica Rose, Chief Analyst

HB 6270—AN ACT CONCERNING THE COLLECTION OF DELINQUENT TAXES AND LOTTERY WINNINGS

This bill requires the Connecticut Lottery Corporation (CLC) to deduct and withhold delinquent taxes from any lottery claim of $5,000 or more a delinquent taxpayer submits at CLC's central office on or after January 1, 2012.

The bill requires the Division of Revenue Services (DRS) commissioner to submit a list of delinquent taxpayers to CLC. It allows the commissioner to disclose to CLC (1) the name and any information necessary to identify a delinquent taxpayer and (2) the amount of taxes, penalty, and interest owed. Before paying any prize claim of $5,000 or more, CLC must check the list. If the claimant is delinquent, CLC must withhold from the winnings and promptly notify and forward to the commissioner the amount of taxes owed, plus penalties and interest, after deducting and withholding any amount owed for child support.

The bill applies to taxes, including penalties and interest, more than 30 days overdue that are not the subject of a timely filed (1) administrative appeal to the commissioner or (2) appeal pending before a court.

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2011

SSB AN ACT CONCERNING THE ENHANCED EMERGENCY 9-1-1 PROGRAM

Summary

This bill eliminates the monthly subscriber fee (currently 50 cents) that subscribers of prepaid wireless telephone service are assessed for the Enhanced 9-1-1 (E 9-1-1) system. It, instead, requires that retailers selling prepaid wireless telecommunications services collect a fee from buyers, anytime they purchase such services. The fee is equal to one-half the rate levied on other telephone service subscribers. Based on the current 50-cent rate, the prepaid wireless fee would be 25 cents.

Retailers may retain 3% of the fees collected. They must remit the balance to the DRS, which must transfer it to the State Treasurer for deposit in the E 9-1-1 Telecommunications Fund. DRS may use up to 2% for its direct costs of collecting and administering the remittances.

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2012

Background

The E 9-1-1 system provides dispatch services to people who call

9-1-1. The public safety commissioner must annually determine the amount of funds needed to develop and administer the system. Funding for the system is generated by a monthly surcharge levied on all phone lines (CGS 28-30a). The Department of Public Utility Control sets the surcharge based on cost and usage data provided by the Office of State-Wide Emergency Telecommunications (OSET).

Current rates are at the statutory cap of 50 cents per month for subscribers with a single telephone line (CGS 16-256g). Subscribers with multiple lines are assessed on a sliding scale, starting at 50 cents for the first line. Subscribers pay the surcharge to their telephone service provider which, in turn, remits it to OSET monthly for deposit in the
E 9-1-1 Telecommunications Fund.

VR:df