Location:
LICENSING;

OLR Research Report


November 6, 2009

 

2009-R-0383

PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE FEES IN SELECTED JURISDICTIONS

By: Meghan Reilly, Legislative Analyst II

You asked for a list of all occupational/professional license fees recently raised under the budget passed this session, the increase in fee change, and the number of professionals currently licensed per profession. You also asked for a comparison of Connecticut fees with 19 other states' fees: California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, Vermont, and Virginia.

SUMMARY

The 2009 budget bill, PA 09-3, raised state fees by (1) increasing fees to at least $15; (2) doubling fees under $150; (3) increasing fees between $150 and $1,000 by 25%; and (4) adding $250 to fees of $1,000 or more. Attached is a relevant portion of the budget act showing increased fees and a list of the number of license renewals for FY 08, provided by the Office of Fiscal Analysis.

We selected 15 professions to compare their license fees in the 19 selected states. Connecticut has the highest annualized license fees of the selected jurisdictions for eight occupations: physicians, real estate salespeople, veterinarians, registered nurses, psychologists, attorneys, dentists, and certified public accountants (CPAs).

CONNECTICUT LICENSES AND FEES

Table 1 shows the changes in fees, number of renewals, and increased revenue for 17 licenses.

Table 1: Sample of Occupational Licenses, Renewals,

Fees, and Revenue, FY 08

Occupation

Number of Renewals

Old Fee ($)

New Fee ($)

Increase

New Revenue for Increased Fees ($)

Physical Therapist

4,005

50

100

50

200,250

Physical Therapist Assistant

466

30

60

30

13,980

Occupational Therapist

655

50

100

50

32,750

Licensed Practical Nurse

10,266

60

120

60

615,960

Landscape Architect

462

80

160

80

36,960

Architect

4,450

150

190

40

178,000

Professional Engineer

9,061

225

285

60

543,660

Land Surveyor

556

225

285

60

33,360

Optometrist

637

300

375

75

47,775

Psychologist

1,635

450

565

115

188,025

Physician and Surgeon

14,795

450

565

115

1,701,425

Dentist

2,992

450

565

115

344,080

Accountant

4,285

450

565

115

492,775

Neuropath

202

450

565

115

23,230

Chiropractor

920

450

565

115

105,800

Podiatrist

288

450

565

115

33,120

Veterinarian

1,105

450

565

115

127,075

TOTAL

 

 

 

 

$4,718,225

Source: Office of Fiscal Analysis.

COMPARATIVE FEES

We were able to identify fees in other states through their published statutes and regulations, agency websites, license renewal forms, and contacting agencies by telephone.

The tables below show the renewal license fees in Connecticut and selected jurisdictions for CPAs, architects, dentists, psychologists, land surveyors, professional engineers, pharmacists, registered nurses, veterinarians, real estate brokers and salespeople, attorneys, physicians, electricians, and appraisers. In this report, we (1) use renewal, rather than initial, license fees because some initial fees include other costs (such as examination fees) and (2) compare annualized fees, based on the renewal fees, because the terms for licenses vary by state.

CPAs

At $565 per year, Connecticut has the highest annualized fee for CPAs. The other annualized fees range from $24 in Virginia to $200 in Texas. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $94.01. Table 2 shows the license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 2: License Fees for CPAs in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

200.00

2

100.00

Connecticut

565.00

1

565.00

Florida

105.00

2

52.50

Georgia

50.00

2

25.00

Iowa

100.00

2

50.00

Maine

50.00

1

50.00

Maryland

80.00

2

40.00

Massachusetts

161.00

2

80.50

Michigan

100.00

1

100.00

New Hampshire

275.00

3

91.67

New Jersey

90.00

3

30.00

New York

210.00

3

70.00

Ohio

150.00

3

50.00

Oklahoma

100.00

1

100.00

Pennsylvania

45.00

1

45.00

Rhode Island

375.00

3

125.00

Texas

200.00

1

200.00

Utah

63.00

2

31.50

Vermont

100.00

2

50.00

Virginia

24.00

1

24.00

Architects

Connecticut's annualized license fee for architects is, at $190, the third-highest fee. The other states' fees range from $31.50 in Utah to $350 in Oklahoma. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $103.53. Table 3 shows the architect license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 3: License Fees for Architects in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

200.00

2

100.00

Connecticut

190.00

1

190.00

Florida

125.00

2

62.50

Georgia

90.00

2

45.00

Iowa

200.00

2

100.00

Maine

100.00

1

100.00

Maryland

68.00

2

34.00

Massachusetts

125.00

1

125.00

Michigan

70.00

2

35.00

New Hampshire

150.00

2

75.00

New Jersey

160.00

2

80.00

New York

210.00

3

70.00

Ohio

125.00

1

125.00

Oklahoma

350.00

2

350.00

Pennsylvania

50.00

1

50.00

Rhode Island

120.00

2

60.00

Texas

305.00

1

305.00

Utah

63.00

2

31.50

Vermont

155.00

2

77.50

Virginia

55.00

1

55.00

Dentists

At $565 per year, Connecticut has the highest annualized fee for dentists. The other fees range from $31.50 in Utah to $325 in Texas. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $180.93. Table 4 shows the dentist license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 4: License Fees for Dentists in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

365.00

2

182.50

Connecticut

565.00

1

565.00

Florida

455.00

2

227.50

Georgia

175.00

2

87.50

Iowa

315.00

2

157.50

Maine

475.00

2

237.50

Maryland

397.00

2

198.50

Massachusetts

360.00

2

180.00

Michigan

285.00

3

95.00

Table 4: -Continued-

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

New Jersey

390.00

2

195.00

New York

210.00

3

70.00

Ohio

337.00

2

168.50

Oklahoma

125.00

1

125.00

Pennsylvania

250.00

2

125.00

Rhode Island

170.00

2

85.00

Texas

325.00

1

325.00

Utah

63.00

2

31.50

Vermont

355.00

2

177.50

Virginia

285.00

1

285.00

Psychologists

At $450 per year, Connecticut has the highest annualized fee for psychologists. The other fees range from $50 in New York to $415 in Texas. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $192.50. Table 5 shows the psychologist license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 5: License Fees for Psychologists in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

410.00

2

205.00

Connecticut

450.00

1

450.00

Florida

805.00

2

402.50

Georgia

250.00

2

125.00

Iowa

170.00

2

85.00

Maine

400.00

2

200.00

Maryland

382.00

2

191.00

Massachusetts

270.00

2

135.00

Michigan

190.00

2

95.00

New Hampshire

270.00

2

135.00

New Jersey

300.00

2

150.00

New York

150.00

3

50.00

Ohio

350.00*

2

175.00

Oklahoma

400.00

1

400.00

Pennsylvania

300.00

2

150.00

Rhode Island

170.00

1

170.00

Texas

415.00

1

415.00

Utah

128.00

2

64.00

Vermont

225.00

2

112.50

Virginia

140.00

1

140.00

Land Surveyors

Connecticut's annualized license fee for land surveyors is, at $225, the second-highest fee. The other states' fees range from $20 in Ohio to $325 in Texas. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $91.33. Table 6 shows the land surveyor license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 6: License Fees for Land Surveyors in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

125.00

2

62.50

Connecticut

225.00

1

225.00

Florida

250.00

2

125.00

Georgia

50.00

2

25.00

Iowa

100.00

2

50.00

Maine

275.00

2

137.50

Maryland

68.00

2

34.00

Massachusetts

82.00

2

41.00

Michigan

100.00

2

50.00

New Hampshire

150.00

2

75.00

New Jersey

80.00

2

40.00

New York

210.00

3

70.00

Ohio

20.00

1

20.00

Oklahoma

150.00

2

75.00

Pennsylvania

50.00

2

25.00

Rhode Island

250.00

2

125.00

Texas

325.00

1

325.00

Utah

63.00

2

31.50

Vermont

400.00

2

200.00

Virginia

90.00

1

90.00

Professional Engineers

Connecticut's annualized license fee for land surveyors is, at $225, the second-highest. The other states' fees range from $20 in Ohio to $235 in Texas. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $71.93. Table 7 shows the professional engineer license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 7: License Fees for Professional Engineers in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

125.00

2

62.50

Connecticut

225.00

1

225.00

Florida

125.00

2

62.50

Georgia

50.00

2

25.00

Iowa

100.00

2

50.00

Maine

80.00

2

40.00

Maryland

68.00

2

34.00

Massachusetts

96.00

2

48.00

Michigan

80.00

2

40.00

New Hampshire

150.00

2

75.00

New Jersey

80.00

2

40.00

New York

210.00

3

70.00

Ohio

20.00

1

20.00

Oklahoma

150.00

2

75.00

Pennsylvania

50.00

2

25.00

Rhode Island

300.00

2

150.00

Texas

235.00

1

235.00

Utah

63.00

2

31.50

Vermont

100.00

2

50.00

Virginia

80.00

1

80.00

Pharmacists

Pharmacist license fees range from $31.50 in Utah to $306 in Texas. Connecticut, at $60, has the sixth-lowest license fee. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $87.75. Table 8 shows the pharmacist license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 8: License Fees for Pharmacists in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

150.00

2

75.00

Connecticut

60.00

1

60.00

Florida

300.00

2

150.00

Georgia

80.00

2

40.00

Iowa

220.00

2

110.00

Maine

100.00

1

100.00

Maryland

150.00

2

75.00

Table 8: -Continued-

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

Massachusetts

150.00

2

75.00

Michigan

70.00

2

35.00

New Hampshire

100.00

1

100.00

New Jersey

140.00

2

70.00

New York

150.00

3

50.00

Ohio

97.50

1

97.50

Oklahoma

75.00

1

75.00

Pennsylvania

150.00

2

75.00

Rhode Island

90.00

1

90.00

Texas

306.00

1

306.00

Utah

63.00

2

31.50

Vermont

100.00

2

50.00

Virginia

90.00

1

90.00

Registered Nurses

At $100 per year, Connecticut has the highest annualized fee for registered nurses. The other fees range from $16.67 in New York to $95 in Virginia. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $48.71. Table 9 shows the registered nurse license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 9: License Fees for Registered Nurses in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

85.00

2

42.50

Connecticut

100.00

1

100.00

Florida

145.00

2

72.50

Georgia

65.00

2

32.50

Iowa

99.00

3

33.00

Maine

75.00

1

75.00

Maryland

68.00

2

34.00

Massachusetts

120.00

2

60.00

Michigan

48.00

2

24.00

New Hampshire

100.00

2

50.00

New Jersey

120.00

2

60.00

New York

50.00

3

16.67

Ohio

65.00

1

65.00

Oklahoma

75.00

2

37.50

Pennsylvania

45.00

2

22.50

Rhode Island

90.00

2

45.00

Table 9: -Continued-

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

Texas

65.00

2

32.50

Utah

58.00

2

29.00

Vermont

95.00

2

47.50

Virginia

95.00

1

95.00

Veterinarians

At $565 per year, Connecticut has the highest annualized fee for veterinarians. The other fees range from $15 in Iowa to $341.00 in Texas. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $145.60. Table 10 shows the veterinary license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 10: License Fees for Veterinarians in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

250.00

2

125.00

Connecticut

565.00

1

565.00

Florida

265.00

2

132.50

Georgia

200.00

2

100.00

Iowa

45.00

3

15.00

Maine

75.00

1

75.00

Maryland

140.00

2

70.00

Massachusetts

97.00

1

97.00

Michigan

110.00

2

55.00

New Hampshire

150.00

1

150.00

New Jersey

250.00

2

125.00

New York

210.00

3

70.00

Ohio

155.00

1

155.00

Oklahoma

225.00

1

225.00

Pennsylvania

300.00

2

150.00

Rhode Island

330.00

2

165.00

Texas

341.00

1

341.00

Utah

73.00

2

36.50

Vermont

250.00

2

125.00

Virginia

135.00

1

135.00

Real Estate Brokers

Connecticut's annualized license fee for real estate brokers is, at $375, the second-highest fee. The other states' fees range from $24 in Utah to $511 in Texas. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $113.50. Table 11 shows the real estate broker license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 11: License Fees for Real Estate Brokers in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

300.00

4

75.00

Connecticut

375.00

1

375.00

Florida

95.00

2

47.50

Georgia

125.00

4

31.25

Iowa

170.00

3

56.67

Maine

100.00

2

50.00

Maryland

190.00

2

95.00

Massachusetts

142.00

2

71.00

Michigan

108.00

1

108.00

New Hampshire

100.00

2

50.00

New Jersey

200.00

2

100.00

New York

150.00

2

75.00

Ohio

180.00

3

60.00

Oklahoma

225.00

1

225.00

Pennsylvania

126.00

2

63.00

Rhode Island

85.00

1

85.00

Texas

511.00

1

511.00

Utah

48.00

2

24.00

Vermont

175.00

2

87.50

Virginia

80.00

1

80.00

Real Estate Salespeople

At $285 per year, Connecticut has the highest annualized fee for real estate salespeople. The other fees range from $21 in Utah to $165 in Oklahoma. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $70.38. Table 12 shows the real estate salesperson license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 12: License Fees for Real Estate Salespeople in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

245.00

4

61.25

Connecticut

285.00

1

285.00

Florida

85.00

2

42.50

Georgia

125.00

4

31.25

Iowa

125.00

3

41.67

Maine

100.00

2

50.00

Maryland

90.00

2

45.00

Massachusetts

103.00

2

51.50

Michigan

78.00

1

78.00

New Hampshire

80.00

2

40.00

New Jersey

100.00

2

50.00

New York

50.00

2

25.00

Ohio

135.00

3

45.00

Oklahoma

165.00

1

165.00

Pennsylvania

96.00

2

48.00

Rhode Island

65.00

1

65.00

Texas

110.00

1

110.00

Utah

42.00

2

21.00

Vermont

175.00

2

87.50

Virginia

65.00

1

65.00

Attorneys

At $565 per year, Connecticut has the highest annualized fee for attorneys. The other fees range from $145 in Maryland to $540 in New Hampshire. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $303.90. Table 13 shows the attorney license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 13: License Fees for Attorneys in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

410.00

1

410.00

Connecticut

565.00

1

565.00

Florida

265.00

1

265.00

Georgia

286.00

1

286.00

Iowa

210.00

1

210.00

Maine

192.00

1

192.00

Maryland

145.00

1

145.00

Table 13: -Continued-

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

Massachusetts

300.00

1

300.00

Michigan

315.00

1

315.00

New Hampshire

540.00

1

540.00

New Jersey

255.00

1

255.00

New York

250.00

1

250.00

Ohio

350.00

2

175.00

Oklahoma

275.00

1

275.00

Pennsylvania

175.00

1

175.00

Rhode Island

375.00

1

375.00

Texas

500.00

1

500.00

Utah

360.00

1

360.00

Vermont

210.00

1

210.00

Virginia

275.00

1

275.00

Physicians

At $450 per year, Connecticut has the highest annualized fee for physicians. The other fees range from $77.50 in Georgia to $404 in California. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $231.68. Table 14 shows the physician license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 14: License Fees for Physicians in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Terms (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

808.00

2

404.00

Connecticut

450.00

1

450.00

Florida

391.00

2

195.50

Georgia

155.00

2

77.50

Iowa

550.00

2

275.00

Maine

400.00

2

200.00

Maryland

436.00

2

218.00

Massachusetts

600.00

2

300.00

Michigan

285.00

3

95.00

New Hampshire

300.00

2

150.00

New Jersey

580.00

2

290.00

New York

570.00

2

285.00

Ohio

305.00

2

152.50

Oklahoma

150.00

1

150.00

Pennsylvania

360.00

2

180.00

Table 14:-Continued-

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Terms (Years)

Annualized Fee

Rhode Island

650.00

2

325.00

Texas

752.00

2

376.00

Utah

183.00

2

91.50

Vermont

500.00

2

250.00

Virginia

337.00

2

168.50

Electricians

Connecticut's annualized license fee for electricians is, at $150, tied for the second-highest fee. The other states' fees range from $12.50 in Maryland to $250 in Oklahoma. There is no statewide licensing in New York and Pennsylvania, where municipalities govern the licensing. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $80.72. Table 15 shows the electrical license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 15: License Fees for Electricians in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

300.00

2

150.00

Connecticut

150.00

1

150.00

Florida

255.00

2

127.50

Georgia

75.00

2

37.50

Iowa

375.00

3

125.00

Maine

150.00

2

75.00

Maryland

25.00

2

12.50

Massachusetts

117.00

3

39.00

Michigan

25.00

1

25.00

New Hampshire

210.00

3

70.00

New Jersey

150.00

3

50.00

New York

n/a

n/a

n/a

Ohio

60.00

1

60.00

Oklahoma

250.00

1

250.00

Pennsylvania

n/a

n/a

n/a

Rhode Island

120.00

1

120.00

Texas

50.00

1

50.00

Utah

63.00

2

31.50

Vermont

120.00

3

40.00

Virginia

40.00

1

40.00

Appraisers

Connecticut's annualized license fee for appraiser is, at $285, the third-highest fee. The other states' fees range from $55.50 in Virginia to $325 in New York. The average fee among these jurisdictions is $184.31. Table 16 shows the appraiser license fees in the jurisdictions.

Table 16: License Fees for Appraisers in Select Jurisdictions

Jurisdiction

Fee (Dollars)

Term (Years)

Annualized Fee

California

435.00

2

217.50

Connecticut

285.00

1

285.00

Florida

230.00

2

115.00

Georgia

125.00

1

125.00

Iowa

360.00

2

180.00

Maine

450.00

2

225.00

Maryland

200.00

3

66.67

Massachusetts

480.00

3

160.00

Michigan

350.00

2

175.00

New Hampshire

400.00

2

200.00

New Jersey

550.00

2

275.00

New York

325.00

1

325.00

Ohio

150.00

1

150.00

Oklahoma

300.00

1

300.00

Pennsylvania

225.00

2

112.50

Rhode Island

200.00

1

200.00

Texas

320.00

2

160.00

Utah

403.00

2

201.50

Vermont

315.00

2

157.50

Virginia

111.00

2

55.50

MR:ts