Topic:
GARNISHMENT; CHILDREN AND FAMILIES DEPT.;
Location:
CHILD SUPPORT;

OLR Research Report


September 9, 2004

 

2004-R-0710

STATES ALLOWING EMPLOYERS TO ASSESS CHARGES FOR CHILD SUPPORT GARNISHMENT ORDERS

By: Susan Price, Associate Attorney

You asked which states allow employers to charge employees for complying with child support wage garnishment orders.

Forty-seven states and the District of Columbia permit employers to charge their employees a fee for the administrative costs of processing a court-ordered child support withholding. Four states (Connecticut, Delaware, New York, and South Dakota) have no such provision in law.

Table 1 shows the maximum fees allowed in each state.

Table 1: Child Support Orders:

Fee for Employer's Administrative Costs

State

Maximum Deduction

Alabama

$2 per month

Alaska

$5 per remittance

Arizona

Greater of $1 per pay period or $4 per month

Arkansas

$2.50 per pay period

California

$1 per remittance

Colorado

$5 per month

Connecticut

No provision

Delaware

No provision

District of Columbia

$2 per remittance

-Continued-

State

Maximum Deduction

Florida

$5 for first deduction; then $2 per deduction

Georgia

$25 for the first deduction; then $3 per deduction

Hawaii

$2 per remittance

Idaho

$5 per remittance

Illinois

$5 per month

Indiana

$2 per remittance

Iowa

$2 per remittance

Kansas

Lesser of $5 per pay period or $10 per month

Kentucky

$1 per month

Louisiana

$5 per pay period

Maine

$2 per remittance

Maryland

$2 per remittance

Massachusetts

$1 per remittance

Michigan

One-time $6 set-up fee

Minnesota

$1 per remittance

Mississippi

$2 per remittance

Missouri

$6 per month

Montana

$5 per month

Nebraska

$2.50 per month

Nevada

$3 per pay period

New Hampshire

$1 per remittance

New Jersey

$1 per remittance

New Mexico

$1 per remittance

New York

No provision

North Carolina

$2 per remittance

North Dakota

$3 per month

Ohio

Greater of $2 or 1% of the amount remitted

Oklahoma

$5 per remittance, not to exceed $10 per month

Oregon

$5 per month

Pennsylvania

2% of the amount remitted1

Rhode Island

$2 per remittance

South Carolina

$3 per remittance

-Continued-

State

Maximum Deduction

South Dakota

No provision

Tennessee

$5 per month

Texas

$10 per month

Utah

$25 per month

Vermont

$5 per month

Virginia

$5 per remittance

Washington

$10 for first remittance; then $1 per remittance

West Virginia

$1 per remittance and $1 per report

Wisconsin

$3 per remittance

Wyoming

$5 per remittance

Source: Automated Data Processing: www.adp.com/corporate/es/pdf/02-172-023.pdf

Visited 9/7/2004

SP:ts

1 Bill introduced to change to $5 per withholding (HB 1104)