Topic:
WAGES;
Location:
WAGES;

OLR Research Report


February 21, 2002

 

2002-R-0257

PREVAILING WAGE THRESHOLDS

 

By: Lynn Marx, Research Attorney

You asked for the current prevailing wage thresholds in other states.

Thirty-one states, including Connecticut, have laws requiring payment of the prevailing wage for at least some public works construction projects. The table below shows the thresholds amounts as of January 1, 2002.

Table 1: Threshold Amounts

STATE

THRESHOLD AMOUNT

Alaska

$2,000

Arkansas

$5,000

California

$1,000

Connecticut

$400,000 for new construction

$100,000 for remodeling

Delaware

$100,000 for new construction

$15,000 for remodeling

Hawaii

$2,000

Illinois

None

Indiana

$150,000

Kentucky

$250,000

Maine

$10,000

Maryland

$500,000

Massachusetts

$None

STATE

THRESHOLD AMOUNT

Michigan

$None

Minnesota

$25,000 where more than one trade is involved

$2,500 where a single trade is involved

Missouri

None

Montana

$25,000

Nebraska

None, except $40,000 for projects let by public school districts

Nevada

$100,000

New Jersey

$2,000

New Mexico

$20,000

New York

None

Ohio

$62, 549 for new construction

$18,764 for remodeling

Oregon

$25,000

Pennsylvania

$25,000

Rhode Island

$1,000

Tennessee

$50,000

Texas

None

Washington

None, except $17,500 for state college construction

West Virginia

None, except $50,000 for WVA Infrastructure and Jobs Development Council

Wisconsin

State and Municipal contracts

State highway contracts

 

$175,000 where more than one trade is involved; 36,000 where a single trade is involved

None

Wyoming

$25,000

LM:eh